Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I hate to leave a bad review but I just made 2 batches of these and neither of them rose well at all. I thought the first was a fluke, so i tried again. The only thing I did differently was to double the batch both times. I did everything else exactly as the recipe stated. Really wish these would have worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I am not a big fan of biscuits but Hubby absolutely loved them. He thought they would be perfect with country gravy. Will have to search for a recipe on that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe that was like my moms because she lost it I find the best way to make sure they come out big and fluffy is once you put in milk mix just until it for into dough then not to roll it out just use you hand I have had very good luck with this. love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is a great recipe. I never rolled them out, I just pull off bits and flatten them (sort of) with my hands. This is also an excellent if you add some finely chopped FRESH rosemary. You don't need a lot, maybe 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are great easy too make and very delicious! I will recommend this to my friends and my family will have to come over more to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
2 stars because they were light and fluffy...but I must b doing something wrong. I used the 2 tsp of baking powder, and that's all I could taste. They looked wonderful and the dog loved them, but my family said no go....if anyone has ideas what I did wrong I would love to know. I thought it was just not mixed well bit every darn one of them tasted equally nasty, like I was licking the baking powder can :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
flaky and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy. I followed someone's suggestion to drop it by the spoonful on the cookie sheet instead of rolling it. It was a really wet dough, so I would've had trouble rolling it anyway w/o working the dough too much. I used margarine instead of shortening, and brushed melted margarine on top before baking. They were a hit, and next time I'll vary it up a bit with spices, cheeses, or maybe bacon bits. This makes a great template to play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
im in culinary school and instead of dipping them in the shortening we grade the shortening with a cheese grader and mix it into the dough so when it bakes it has an even amount of shortening and it comes out moist and another good thing is to add chesse and if u want to make red lobster bisciuts but dont have the money just take some garlic fresh or powder doesnt matter a decent amount of putter a chop up some parsely, melt it in a pot let it cool and get a little hard and as soon as they come out the oven take a pastry brush annd brush the mixture over the top so the butter mixture melts and you have your red lobster cheese biscuits dont be stingy with the cheese either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These were quick and easy. And they were very light. But I do agree with another reviewer, they don't have much flavor, except a hint of baking powder flavor. I made a half batch, with butter. If I try them again, I will try making them with shortening, since that is what the recipe calls for. If they have more flavor, I will update the review and rating since that would validate the recipe as written. As others noted, there is no way a full batch could yield 24 biscuits. With the half batch, I got only 7, and my biscuits were relatively small. Also, I agree they probably need more baking powder, as mine rose some but nothing like what is shown in the photo. But since they already have a hint of that baking powder flavor, I would be worried how they would taste with more baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States