Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My 16 year old son decided he wanted to make biscuits for the first time today. I have never had success with home made biscuits but I decided to give it a try with him. We picked this recipe because it looked to have the highest ratings yet fairly simply. As we have a big family, we doubled the recipe. Based on other reviews we increased the teaspoons of baking powder to 8 for 4 cups of flour. We upped the salt to 1 teaspoon (or 2 total). I also added a pinch of baking soda like 1/8 teaspoon and 1/4 cup of sugar. I had no vegetable shortening so I used half lard and half butter. The mix was too dry so we had to add a tad more milk just so it would come together. Still to dry to roll out so we just pressed down and cut out. We forgot to dip in shortening but there was plenty of oil in them. I have never seen biscuits rise up this beautifully before. The whole family was amazed. Seriously the best looking biscuits I have ever seen. Taste wise they were the best tasting biscuits I have ever made but not the best I have eaten. That may be due to my substitutions. I think I could have left out the baking soda and maybe a bit too much salt. However once we added syrup and or jelly they were absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good.. Brush butter on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Pretty good. The bigger the biscuit the better. The smaller ones were too hard and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I was writing a report for a Criminal Justice class for my highschool when i came upon this recipe. I immediately got up and made them within 20 minutes. They are absolutely delicious! I subbed shortening for butter. Works just as good. I would go easy on the salt and not dip in shortening afterwards. Absolutely amazing! Thank you so much for making a long night of paper writing a great snack time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Followed recipe exactly with one exception- I used 1 tablespoon of baking powder instead of the 2 1/2 teaspoons. Not a drastic change but read that the more baking soda the more they would rise. Super easy and quick to make. Now we can have biscuits and gravy many more mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Love, love, love! Don't over handle the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Finally I've found a recipe just like my Nana's! I just made these and my family absolutely LOVED them!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This recipe reminds me exactly of the ones I grew up eating. They are not the same as the southern biscuits that some may be used to. I made a few modifications: 50-50 Whole wheat and white flour, and used only butter instead of shortening. I'm also too lazy to dip them in melted butter/shortening, so I didn't. A lot of reviewers comment that they don't rise enough, this is probably true! I live at 6000 feet and based on other people's concerns of lack of rise, I didn't reduce the baking powder as I normally do when adjusting for altitude. These come out perfect at high altitude without adjustment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Good. I had to add a little extra milk to form the dough...and the biscuits were slightly salty, so I would cut the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tryed this recipe and the biscuits came out flat as pancakes. I don't know why, I followed the directions exactly and they came out flat. I'm going to try increasing the baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States