Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
5 T equals just about 1/3 C so that is what I used. I brushed the tops with butter before baking them at 475 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought these were very bland in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These biscuits came out great...very flaky just like a biscuit should be. Even my husband said this one was a keeper! I followed the recipe as is except I replaced the shortening with butter to reduce trans fat. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I tried 2 biscuit recipes from this site today and didn't like this one as well as "tea biscuit" recipe. These seemed dry and I rolled to thin, should have rolled to 1/2 inch. A GREAT suggestion by a reviewer I tried was wetting the counter and placing plastic wrap on it to roll the dough out. This really cut down on the flour mess, just pulled up plastic and threw away! Thick recipe was quick to prepare but not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
great recipe. can substitute shortening with butter to get better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I loved this recipe, it was easy to do, and i added some cheese to it, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M Donaldson-Seegmiller
Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
EXCELLENT...a very moist and tender biscuit. Be careful not to over-handle the dough or they will be tough and dry. I patted them to the desired thickness, cut biscuits very close together, and repeated x1. The bit of left over dough I threw away to avoid dry, tough biscuits. I also made a batch with rice milk for my allergic son, they weren't nearly as good. Stick with the butter flavored Crisco and milk. THEY WERE YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
my family loved this recipe. it made the best cathead bisuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've been up since 4:30 this morning and figured what the hay...I'll try to make biscuits for breakfast. My mom used to make the best biscuits in the whole world. Well, these are almost as great and "stupid" easy to make. They take very little time to make. I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead...worked out great. I brushed the tops with melted butter also. They rose up real nice. Next time I'm going to try with the shortening. I'll let you know how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Perfect title since these are the same biscuits MY mom used to make! I followed recipe to the tee except I didn't dip in the melted shortening. For some variety, add 3/4 cup grated old cheddar cheese, 1 tsp dried parsley, 1/4 tsp italian herb mix, 1/2 tsp crushed rosemary. Bake as usual. OR: add 1/2 cup raisins, 1/3 cup white sugar & 1 tbsp ground cinnamon. So good & thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States