Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These were really fast and easy to fix. No kneading required which is always a plus. I didn't care for the flavor though, it seemed like something was missing. I used butter flavor crisco, but I don't think it made much difference than if I had used plain. I got 8 biscuits from this. These were good with Bill's Sausage Gravy over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made these biscuits for my sausage gravy and they were perfect. These biscuits were quick and easy to make and with having 4 kids one of which is only 6 mos i dont have a lot of time to cook so it was wonderful to be able to make homemade biscuits without it being an all day process. They tasted great, were light and fluffy and went great with my sausage gravy. I will definatly make these again many times. I brushed the top with milk before baking but other then that i followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I added a little extra liquid because the dough came out a little dry at first. I was dubious about the cooking time of 12-15 minutes at such a high heat, but it turned out to be quite accurate. Not quite buttermilk biscuits, but good if you don't have buttermilk or the ingredients for a substitute on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe will be a staple in my house!!!! Excellent texture and great even when eaten plain!!! They always come out nice and fluffy.....well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Mmmm! These biscuits are delicious! The texture is wonderful. We liked ours with butter, then preserves, jam, or honey on top... it was very hard to stop at just one biscuit! I think dipping them in shortening made them extra special. I will be keeping this nice recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These biscuits are fabulous! I make them all the time. They're great as a meal compliment or just eating cold with a bit of jam for a snack. Even my British in-laws love them with sausage gravy for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Best biscuit recipe I have ever tried! And simple and quick to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
5 T equals just about 1/3 C so that is what I used. I brushed the tops with butter before baking them at 475 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought these were very bland in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These biscuits came out great...very flaky just like a biscuit should be. Even my husband said this one was a keeper! I followed the recipe as is except I replaced the shortening with butter to reduce trans fat. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States