Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I wanted a quick and easy biscuit recipe for the creamed chipped beef my husband was begging for. This really fit the bill! I made them as written aside from brushing butter on the tops instead of the shortening. I think maybe they would have had a richer taste if I'd used the butter flavored shortening in the mix, but I only had regular and they still were tasty. They cooked up perfectly in 12 mins and were nice and flaky. I didn't get a lot of biscuits out of the mix, but I got 9 good sized ones, which was fine for our dinner. I will definitely be making these again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I added a 1/2 cup of white sugar to this recipe for a sweeter dessert-type biscuit. I also reduced the oven temperature from 450 to 400. These were simple and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Super easy and very yummy, Husband approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years and it remains our favorite biscuit recipe, I know it by memory. Sometimes I sub the milk with buttermilk, they come out so tender and moist. Also brush the tops with melted butter. Tip: If you dont have buttermilk on hand just add 1 TBS. of white vinegar to regular milk and let sit for about 5 min. you cant taste the vinegar and the biscuits are delicious also if the tops dont brown put under the broiler for a couple of minutes keeping a close eye on them,just enough for a slight brown top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I followed this down to the letter, handled the dough as lightly and as little as possible. Was not impressed at all with the light yellow somewhat flaky hockey pucks that I wound up with. Some of the pictures (the yellow-hockey puck pics...look like mine. The biscuits in the original photo look GREAT! I want THAT recipe! won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
My husband said these were some of the best biscuits he has had (I made them the last two nights to go with our dinner). I doubled the recipe, and it yielded about a dozen standard-sized biscuits. Instead of dipping them in melted shortening, I brushed melted butter on the tops, and it worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe! Simple and customizable. I made a batch following the recipe as is and then I made a batch using butter instead of shortening. Both were perfect. I'm going to try making a batch using heavy cream and sugar for shortcake next. Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These were very fluffy and had nice layers. I made them with the shortening and with butter, and both batches turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are good. I followed one of the reviewer's suggestion, doubled the amount of baking powder, but they didn't turn out to be bigger. I was expecting big biscuits. But they turned out good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this exactly other than at the end the dough was really dry, i added a dollop of sour cream. baked up perfect! so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falon_rane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States