Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
Easy to make, but pan is extremely hot. So don't let kids touch it, or take it out of the oven. (The heat goes through most hotmittens) Doesn't take long to make and is easy to clean-up after. Tastes like buttermilk biscits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
this is a wonderful recipe ! The taste is great! My family really enjoyed it . Thanks so much Jodeen for sharing it with everyone ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
my fiance's family is from the south and he asked me if i could make biscuits. i tried thid recipe, and he said they were just like his grandmothers! this recipe is very easy. dont get scared that these biscuits are lumpy, they are supposed to be! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleCrumb.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because they are easy to make and taste great, they came out crusty on the outside with a soft inside, yum. The only thing I changed was that I didn't dip them in melted shortening. Overall, they were a hit at my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Excellent taste - even though I usually prefer to cook and bake with butter, I definitely recommend using butter flavored shortening; it makes all the difference in the world for flakiness and taste. My advice is to not roll the dough too thin. To achieve the flaky layers, the unbaked dough really should be rather thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
nice and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
It's a great recipe, they were light. A great recipe and is easy to make. The next time I'm going to try the recipe with buttermilk. I tried making them with buttermilk, it didn't come out as good. They also freeze real well. Thanks for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is an easy and very good recipe, have used it several times now already. I started using butter instead of shortening. Double or triple the recipe and cut them thick to make them soft and able to be split and buttered if you like. You can cut the circles out with a round cookie cutter, or even the top of a round cup as I did a few times when I had no cutters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This recipe is excellent. It's very easy to make and doesn't take a lot of time. The only change I made was doubling the amount of baking powder. The biscuits turned out really fluffly and made an excellent addition to the meal. They even tasted great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This recipe was simple, and the buscuits turned at light and fluffy even at 7,000 ft. I did not adjust the recipe at all, and found the flavor bland. Next time I'll try buttermilk and make them a little thicker. A great base recipe to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States