Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good easy recipe. My changes were to use butter and I used my hands to flatten into a rectangle and cut with a pizza cutter instead of rolling it out. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is my go-to recipe for biscuits. I teach a high school cooking class and even the students always get good results with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made these exactly as directed and cut the recipe in to 16 bicuits. They would up more like cookies but tasted perfect. To get them to the "biscuit" size that I knew my guests would be expecting I actually double the recipe and made a dozen biscuits out of it. They were perfect. Moist, flakey, delicious and easy, and reheated extremely well the next day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My go to biscuit recipe. These come out perfect everytime. I usually substitute butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Lovely little biscuit, rises high and is flaky as sin. I can't get these on the table fast enough for my lot, they eat them two handed. If your lucky enough to have a few left over ( not likely in any case), try it with a thick slice of tomato covered in mayonnaisse with a bit of salt and pepper. Makes for an amazing light lunch or tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Awesome biscuits (Moist and flaky)....I doubled up the recipe and made a meat pie and cinnamon rolls...Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Excellent biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good biscuits :) i had no problem with mine rising. I didnt have baking powder so i used 1/4 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp cream of tartar per tsp of baking powder in the recipe. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar to the recipe, and brushed the tops with melted margarine before baking. Yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
There is only one thing that I would do differently. If you can get it, use pastry flour. NEVER use all purpose flour. If you can't get pastry flour, use half bread flour and half cake flour. You will find that you will get a better bisquit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is only my 2nd time ever attempting to make homemade biscuits. And I have to say, this recipe really didn't make me want to re-try it. The biscuits came out flat and it certainly did not yeild 2-3 dozens, which after I tasted them, I was very happy it only made 12-13 biscuits. And that was rolling it thin. Maybe that's why they came out flat. I don't know. The taste was just "okay". Still looking for a recipe close to "Mama's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States