Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These were good. Fluffy and did rise well. Like many of the other postings i found these to have very little flavor. if I do make these again Ill turn them into a garlic and cheese biscuit.:) Happy baking all and good luck on the quest to finding the perfect biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanjere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I hate to leave a bad review but I just made 2 batches of these and neither of them rose well at all. I thought the first was a fluke, so i tried again. The only thing I did differently was to double the batch both times. I did everything else exactly as the recipe stated. Really wish these would have worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I am not a big fan of biscuits but Hubby absolutely loved them. He thought they would be perfect with country gravy. Will have to search for a recipe on that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe that was like my moms because she lost it I find the best way to make sure they come out big and fluffy is once you put in milk mix just until it for into dough then not to roll it out just use you hand I have had very good luck with this. love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is a great recipe. I never rolled them out, I just pull off bits and flatten them (sort of) with my hands. This is also an excellent if you add some finely chopped FRESH rosemary. You don't need a lot, maybe 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are great easy too make and very delicious! I will recommend this to my friends and my family will have to come over more to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
2 stars because they were light and fluffy...but I must b doing something wrong. I used the 2 tsp of baking powder, and that's all I could taste. They looked wonderful and the dog loved them, but my family said no go....if anyone has ideas what I did wrong I would love to know. I thought it was just not mixed well bit every darn one of them tasted equally nasty, like I was licking the baking powder can :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
flaky and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy. I followed someone's suggestion to drop it by the spoonful on the cookie sheet instead of rolling it. It was a really wet dough, so I would've had trouble rolling it anyway w/o working the dough too much. I used margarine instead of shortening, and brushed melted margarine on top before baking. They were a hit, and next time I'll vary it up a bit with spices, cheeses, or maybe bacon bits. This makes a great template to play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
im in culinary school and instead of dipping them in the shortening we grade the shortening with a cheese grader and mix it into the dough so when it bakes it has an even amount of shortening and it comes out moist and another good thing is to add chesse and if u want to make red lobster bisciuts but dont have the money just take some garlic fresh or powder doesnt matter a decent amount of putter a chop up some parsely, melt it in a pot let it cool and get a little hard and as soon as they come out the oven take a pastry brush annd brush the mixture over the top so the butter mixture melts and you have your red lobster cheese biscuits dont be stingy with the cheese either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States