Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe will be a staple in my house!!!! Excellent texture and great even when eaten plain!!! They always come out nice and fluffy.....well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Mmmm! These biscuits are delicious! The texture is wonderful. We liked ours with butter, then preserves, jam, or honey on top... it was very hard to stop at just one biscuit! I think dipping them in shortening made them extra special. I will be keeping this nice recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These biscuits are fabulous! I make them all the time. They're great as a meal compliment or just eating cold with a bit of jam for a snack. Even my British in-laws love them with sausage gravy for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Best biscuit recipe I have ever tried! And simple and quick to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
5 T equals just about 1/3 C so that is what I used. I brushed the tops with butter before baking them at 475 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought these were very bland in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These biscuits came out great...very flaky just like a biscuit should be. Even my husband said this one was a keeper! I followed the recipe as is except I replaced the shortening with butter to reduce trans fat. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I tried 2 biscuit recipes from this site today and didn't like this one as well as "tea biscuit" recipe. These seemed dry and I rolled to thin, should have rolled to 1/2 inch. A GREAT suggestion by a reviewer I tried was wetting the counter and placing plastic wrap on it to roll the dough out. This really cut down on the flour mess, just pulled up plastic and threw away! Thick recipe was quick to prepare but not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
great recipe. can substitute shortening with butter to get better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I loved this recipe, it was easy to do, and i added some cheese to it, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M Donaldson-Seegmiller
Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States