Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
These biscuits turned out exactly as I had hoped. They were soft and fluffy with a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Renee Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love, love, love these biscuits. OMG. I didnt think they would come out so good but they did. I make these every night with all my meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I have made these twice now (with another recipe in between) and these just don't make the cut for us. I don't know what, but SOMETHING is missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The best from scratch biscuit I've made so far, but not 5 star gold. I'm going to try improving my methods, like placing the biscuits closer together while baking, and barely handling the dough. No hockey pucks yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisiana bourbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I would like to know how you're supposed to get 24 biscuits out of this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and was able to get 12 very thin biscuits. I cut them with a 2 1/2" cutter and hoped they'd rise a little during baking. Not really. My biscuits look like miniature pancakes. Next time I make these I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
These were so easy to make and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These were really fast and easy to fix. No kneading required which is always a plus. I didn't care for the flavor though, it seemed like something was missing. I used butter flavor crisco, but I don't think it made much difference than if I had used plain. I got 8 biscuits from this. These were good with Bill's Sausage Gravy over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made these biscuits for my sausage gravy and they were perfect. These biscuits were quick and easy to make and with having 4 kids one of which is only 6 mos i dont have a lot of time to cook so it was wonderful to be able to make homemade biscuits without it being an all day process. They tasted great, were light and fluffy and went great with my sausage gravy. I will definatly make these again many times. I brushed the top with milk before baking but other then that i followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I added a little extra liquid because the dough came out a little dry at first. I was dubious about the cooking time of 12-15 minutes at such a high heat, but it turned out to be quite accurate. Not quite buttermilk biscuits, but good if you don't have buttermilk or the ingredients for a substitute on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe will be a staple in my house!!!! Excellent texture and great even when eaten plain!!! They always come out nice and fluffy.....well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States