Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years and it remains our favorite biscuit recipe, I know it by memory. Sometimes I sub the milk with buttermilk, they come out so tender and moist. Also brush the tops with melted butter. Tip: If you dont have buttermilk on hand just add 1 TBS. of white vinegar to regular milk and let sit for about 5 min. you cant taste the vinegar and the biscuits are delicious also if the tops dont brown put under the broiler for a couple of minutes keeping a close eye on them,just enough for a slight brown top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I followed this down to the letter, handled the dough as lightly and as little as possible. Was not impressed at all with the light yellow somewhat flaky hockey pucks that I wound up with. Some of the pictures (the yellow-hockey puck pics...look like mine. The biscuits in the original photo look GREAT! I want THAT recipe! won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
My husband said these were some of the best biscuits he has had (I made them the last two nights to go with our dinner). I doubled the recipe, and it yielded about a dozen standard-sized biscuits. Instead of dipping them in melted shortening, I brushed melted butter on the tops, and it worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe! Simple and customizable. I made a batch following the recipe as is and then I made a batch using butter instead of shortening. Both were perfect. I'm going to try making a batch using heavy cream and sugar for shortcake next. Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These were very fluffy and had nice layers. I made them with the shortening and with butter, and both batches turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are good. I followed one of the reviewer's suggestion, doubled the amount of baking powder, but they didn't turn out to be bigger. I was expecting big biscuits. But they turned out good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this exactly other than at the end the dough was really dry, i added a dollop of sour cream. baked up perfect! so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falon_rane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very yummy! I used grated butter instead of oil, and half whole wheat flour. I mixed in a tablespoon of Cheese, Chives and Bacon dip mix, then brushed on butter and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. This is better than my usual biscuit recipe for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were great! I doubled the recipe, but when it came to the part "DIP IN MELTED SHORTENING" I almost died. I brushed a little melted margerine on the tops because the thought of the whole thing dripping in lard didn't sound appealing.They turned out awesome and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Mine didn't rise like they should have. I'll try them again and give them a little time before putting them in the oven. I wouldn't have given them this high a rating except they were easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States