Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were great! I've made them several times now. They are quick and easy to make and bake. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening- for flavor. I was craving my old HS home ec style cinnamon biscuits. I added 2 T Sugar, 1 t. cinnamon (guessing as I don't really measure) with powder sugar icing. They hit the spot, though not as light as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Delicious! One of the few recipes I follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great recipe! Easy to make. Turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I'm one of the flat people. After they came out flat I tested the baking pwdr with vinegar and got a solid reaction, so I'm not sure what went wrong. I don't know that it matters for anything, but I found the aftertaste surprisingly salty Others talk about adding more baking pwdr - even to doubling it - but in mine, it was just below the threshold of tasting "chemical-ly" from the existing amount. I'll make these again because of such positive feedback from others. But I'll sour the milk with 1t of vinegar for 5min prior to adding it to the (mostly) dry ingredients' bowl. That should get a good CO2 rise going that will be sustained or enhanced by the oven spring (hopefully).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I didn't really love this recipe. They came out flat and fairly tasteless. The ones we ate right away with butter and jam were not bad but I wont make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Morgan1982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used 5 tablespoons of melted margarine instead of shortening. I also used 1 cup of buttermilk instead of regular milk because when I use the buttermilk they are more flavorful and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Easy and delicious for biscuits and gravy! For those of you who say the biscuits wouldn't rise, make sure you're using FRESH baking powder! My biscuits were at least 2" high, light, and fluffy. I also used softened butter instead of shortening and regular salt instead of Kosher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I just made these...they are incredible. I too had to substitute w/w flour and butter to them but wow were they awesome! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Ricker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Well now I have made these biscuits twice this week thinking the first time I did something wrong. They absolutely wouldnt rise at all both times they were like hockey pucks and not very fluffy I made them exactly to the recipe maybe its the weather here in Ohio I don't know but I will keep trying to find a light and fluffy airy biscuit I like these are like hockey pucks LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States