Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe, instead od doubling the shortening I only added what this recipe required then equal amounts of butter. I spooned melted butter over the top after cutting them out. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made the recipe as-is. Didn't turn out so well for me. I think next time I'll try vegetable oil and at least double the baking powder and salt. They were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Dennings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (rare for me!), just finished eating dinner, they were perfect! The first one I poured chicken fricassee over, held up to the weight fine. The second one I had butter and grape jelly on. It was firm but fluffy. Raised nicely. I increased the recipe by half, made 8 biscuits, used a large cutter. The trick with these is not to knead them too much or too hard. It was a little gooey when I took the batter from the bowl to the flour covered area on the counter. I let them sit for about 5 minutes before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The problem I found with this recipe is twofold. First, there is no way to get 2 dozen biscuits - I managed 8 half inch thick by 2 inch diameter biscuits. Second, there was nothing but 2 crusts. I followed this recipe to the letter. I was making breakfast and couldn't find my mom's recipe so I used this one. It was first and last time to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Boyfriend really loved the taste of these. Paired it with Sausage Gravy and it was a hit. They didn't rise as well as I thought they would so I believe I will add extra baking powder next time, but flavor wise it was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening. It tastes great. ITs just they didn't rise at all they are very flat. It could be that my baking powder is old, so I will try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Diehm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love how easy it is to make, add a cup of cheese and you have a great biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Loved it. I added cut up peaches. The kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Kind of bland, like it's missing something. Quick and easy, but most biscuits are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Just made a half recipe. Next time I will increase the baking powder so that they will look like the picture. This is a good basic recipe. It is not full of flavor, it isn't supposed to be, these are basic. You need to either use butter or butter flavoring extract for that. Subbing buttermilk would add flavor too. Make sure your baking powder is FRESH, don't knead the dough much if at all. You don't need to roll them out, you can pat with clean, flour-dusted hands hands. This is one to learn by heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States