Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Super easy to remember (I liked that a lot!) And they come out perfect. I have made these over and over--sometimes I use buttermilk, sometimes I sour the milk with lemon or vinegar. I have added- garlic, cheese, crumbled bacon, whatever and they never fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
these are excellent as a dumpling when cooked in your favorite stew, been doing this fo years and is a favorite of my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Mine came out very flaky... the recipe only made 11 (3 inch diameter) biscuits. I used butter.... I did not overwork the dough (very important), rolled out about 1/2 in thick, scraps just squeezed together and then cut as well. Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe, instead od doubling the shortening I only added what this recipe required then equal amounts of butter. I spooned melted butter over the top after cutting them out. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made the recipe as-is. Didn't turn out so well for me. I think next time I'll try vegetable oil and at least double the baking powder and salt. They were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Dennings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (rare for me!), just finished eating dinner, they were perfect! The first one I poured chicken fricassee over, held up to the weight fine. The second one I had butter and grape jelly on. It was firm but fluffy. Raised nicely. I increased the recipe by half, made 8 biscuits, used a large cutter. The trick with these is not to knead them too much or too hard. It was a little gooey when I took the batter from the bowl to the flour covered area on the counter. I let them sit for about 5 minutes before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The problem I found with this recipe is twofold. First, there is no way to get 2 dozen biscuits - I managed 8 half inch thick by 2 inch diameter biscuits. Second, there was nothing but 2 crusts. I followed this recipe to the letter. I was making breakfast and couldn't find my mom's recipe so I used this one. It was first and last time to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Boyfriend really loved the taste of these. Paired it with Sausage Gravy and it was a hit. They didn't rise as well as I thought they would so I believe I will add extra baking powder next time, but flavor wise it was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening. It tastes great. ITs just they didn't rise at all they are very flat. It could be that my baking powder is old, so I will try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Diehm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love how easy it is to make, add a cup of cheese and you have a great biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States