Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
As the base recipe is, it's quite bland and merely ok. With major tweaks in ingredient quantity and some mix-ins, it can be excellent. The amount of canned soup definitely needs to be doubled, but I only cook for 2-3 people so I halve the amount of cheese and pasta as it is to serve 4, in a 12x7" baking pan. We added 1/2 cup cooked broccoli and 20 slices crumbled turkey pepperoni as mix-ins, and spiced it up with salt, pepper, and garlic & herb Mrs. Dash. Some of the cheese is conserved to top the dish in a thin, even layer before baking so the pasta doesn't dry out in the oven. This recipe when done well is awesome and is a part of our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Even the pickiest person in the family thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
So simple and tasty. Didn't change a thing. Nothing exciting here but definitely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyklee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is not only easy but it is delicious Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is it! Have fun! We tweak it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is a keeper! I was looking for a kid friendly recipe as my kids don't like the hugely popular here Chuck's Mac & Cheese recipe. This one was gooey, creamy and bland enough for my sons to eat a lot of it! I used 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup, 1 bag of Colby Jack cheese and 1 bag of mild Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magda Dagnall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zielona Gora, Lubusz, Poland
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is ok. As is, I would not make again. I took suggestions of others, and added an extra can of soup, and half cup of milk. I used about 32 oz of dry pasta. Not sure how much cheese I used, might not have been enough. I used salt, pepper, onion, garlic and paprika and it wasn't enough flavor, app half teaspoon of each. I also added a crispy ritz cracker/shredded cheese/parmesan cheese topping. When I get seasonings right, I will like more. I tried this recipe because macaroni and cheese is my all time favorite comfort food, and I've always wanted to make a homemade version, but mostly it just isn't cost effective for my family size. This kind of bridged the gap, and was the first recipe I could use a canned item that my kids didn't refuse. Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure with tweaks we will use again - oh and btw, I do have to say my kids had a different opinion - they really did love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was so easy to make and tastes just as good as more difficult homemade mac and cheese recipes. I will definitely make this again. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 cans of soup, some sour cream, and more milk. I used paprika, garlic salt, and pepper to add flavor as well. Next time I will use Sharp Cheddar cheese instead of Mild Cheddar for even more flavor. I sprinkled some bread crumbs on top too. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie O
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe, however, I used cheddar cheese. My brother(who is a mac and cheese lover) loved it, but to me it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyne Dauberman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
My mom used to make Mac and cheese like this but always added cubed ham. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States