Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly & it turned out dry a flavorless. I knew something was up when it didn't call for butter, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt. I have several other, way-better recipes for baked mac & cheese. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was really good! I did tweak it a bit though. Per other users suggestions, I added 2 cans of soup and 1/2 cup of sour cream. Instead of regular milk, I added a can of evaporated milk. I also added fresh breadcrumbs and fresh sliced tomato on top! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I made this last night with some tweaks to the recipe and got rave reviews. I did the changes others suggested--using 2 cans of soup, 1 1/2 cups of whole milk, and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also used Sharp Cheddar cheese. I heated the soup, milk, and sour cream until it boiled, then I poured it over the warm, drained macaroni, stirring together. I put most of the cheese in the casserole itself, reserving 1 cup to sprinkle on the top. Then I took 1 cup of Panko breadcrumbs and mixed it with 2 tablespoons of melted butter and sprinkled that on the very top of the casserole. I baked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes to get the top golden brown and crunchy. It was easy to make and had a big payoff--I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Husband just made this, and I think it's darn good!! :-) Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakercd73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
use 2 cans cheese soup one 12 oz can carnation milk - awesome along with shredded sharp cheese and boiled noodles in salted water. The best mac n cheese I have had in years - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This one is now a family favorite and requested recipe from my friends too! I tried many recipes over the years and this is the only one that all my boys & my husband like! Score! I read the reviews and added some sour cream & extra cheese to the recipe and it turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3pickyeaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Recipe was very good but I did improvise and follow some suggestions from previous reviewers. I used sharp cheddar cheese, 2 cans of soup, added some greek all purpose seasoning, mixed about half the cheddar cheese into the noddles and used the other half for topping. I then finihshed it off with lanko bread crumbs. My family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I'm a single guy who is trying to cook more rather than buying fast food. As such I love quick, simple recipes that still taste like I did a lot of work. This recipe gets 5 stars from me for needing only 4 ingredients and 5 minutes of prep for creamy home made Mac And Cheese. But you do need to add a second can of cheese and a little more milk as others have said. I added the sour cream but I'm not sure I couldn't have done without it. And it is in fact a bit bland without some seasoning. That's because of the canned cheese. I used season-all in mine and it was just the touch it needed. Simple salt and pepper would probably work just as well. just needs a little something to flavor the canned cheese. Great recipe! I'll do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themusicministrycoach.com

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
OH. MY. YUM! This is the best recipe I've found. I also followed other reviews to use 2 cans of cheese soup, spoonful of sour cream, and 1 1/2 cups milk, salt and pepper to taste. I also added cracker crumb to the top for crunch with sprinkle cheese. it's AMAZING!! :) KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
It is an easy recipe & very good, I used Colby/jack cheese & added a teaspoon of mustard powder. My husband really likes it & he is a picky person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States