Mom's Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a good recipe but it comes out very sweet! I would reduce the amount of sugar. Our local grocery store has really good baked beans but I thought I would try to make my own. With all the time this takes I think it's worth it to just buy them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Unbelievably good. I was a bit of a skeptic approaching this since the main ingredient is canned baked beans. It seemed like culinary cheating, but it all worked out great! I will add I didn't use the molasses, since I didn't have it. But I did use all the other suggested ingredients and this was simply awesome!! You really have to let it cook for the duration, which is a long time, but it makes all the flavors meld better. Thanks for this. This will definitely be a repeat recipe in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
These are the easist, yummiest beans I have ever made. My dad swears he has the best recipe, but I think once he trys these he'll change his mind! I always leave out the tomatoes, and sometimes use bacon pieces (not bits) instead of slices. This recipe is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noz100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made these and they were really good, my husband really liked them they were a bit too sweet for me. I did read the previous reviews and only used 1/2 a cup of sugar but they still seemed too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
These are by far the VERY BEST baked beans I've had! My Aunt has been the "Queen of Baked Beans" in our family forever - my mother (her sister) just asked me to bring these to our family reunion after having them once at a bbq - and my Aunt gave me the nod to go ahead! I followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a thing! You'll want extra for the next day, I suggest you squirrel some away before you serve or they'll be gone! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Boat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was a little leary of the amount of mustard... but turned out to be exactly what I was hoping for. SWEET AND DELICIOUS! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
UMMMMM...DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I get rave reviews every time I make these baked beans. They are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made this for a cookout at my home recently and it was great! I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic, everyone loved them! Thank you for the recipe and Happy Cooking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
better than mom's home-made!! I used Bush's Boston baked as well as Bourbon beans to start with. I used ready-made real bacon bits. I loosely measured the ingredients, and added a larger amount of molasses for that deep-browned taste. I put these in a slow cooker for a couple of hours, but they didn't thicken, so transferred them to a bean crock and convection-cooked them with no lid for the last hr. Next time, I would start them the night before, or early morn. and cook all day if using crock-pot. Alternatively, if using a bean crock I would allow for at least 3 or 4 hours in a med.(300*)oven. They do thicken nicely as they cool and they are even better as 2nd or 3rd day leftovers...if they last that long!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States