Mom's Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Wonderful! I used bakes beans flavored with brown sugar. I left out molasses, dry mustard and cooked ham - the bacon was enough flavor. I added 4 stalks of chopped celery and 2 minced garlic cloves. I cooked the bacon, onion, galic and celery in a big pot for about 10 minutes... then added the beans, tomatoes, mustard and salt. Let simeer for about 1 hour and they were fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I took these to a outing last night and they went over wonderful. A five star recipe. The only reason for the four star is that I used tomato sauce instead of tomatoes. Next time I might cut back on the brown sugar. I thought they were a little sweet, but others thought they were wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I couldn't ask for a better bean recipe! My family loved it! I didn't have to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a great sweeter version of baked beans. So when I am taking these to a gathering with more younger guests, I use this recipe and it is always hit. The ham is a great surprise and I like that the bacon is in the recipe. I have always disliked the full strip of bacon on top of the baked beans. The recipe doesn't specify on packed or loose brown sugar so I did NOT pack it and it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
One word: AMAZING! Thick and sticky, these are just the best EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Good recipe. I only used 1/2 a cup of brown sugar. That was more than sweet enough. I also added in a some cut up onion. I put everything in the crockpot. Bacon tends to be too chewy in the crockpot so I used ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe!! I have been taking it to potluck dinners for over a year and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gailytay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Took these to a pot luck and they were a huge hit. Even better cold from the fridge the next day. Have been trying to find a recipe that could mimic the beans my mom used to make - these are very close! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My wife really liked this. I used a pound of pork saugage and omited the bacon. I also used 2 cans of great nothern beans a can of butter beans and a can of lima beans, all drained and rinsed. I used a quart of stewed tomatoes in lieu of the diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
PERFECT! I put the beans in the crock-pot (instead of baking) and dumped all the ingredients in. I used 'real bacon' bits from the salad isle and served with ham rather than add the ham in with the cooking. I used these at a Christmas Kids Party - There wasn't anything left! Just as good as those Southern Baked Beans - if you like the sweet taste, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States