Mom's Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Wonderful! I used bakes beans flavored with brown sugar. I left out molasses, dry mustard and cooked ham - the bacon was enough flavor. I added 4 stalks of chopped celery and 2 minced garlic cloves. I cooked the bacon, onion, galic and celery in a big pot for about 10 minutes... then added the beans, tomatoes, mustard and salt. Let simeer for about 1 hour and they were fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I took these to a outing last night and they went over wonderful. A five star recipe. The only reason for the four star is that I used tomato sauce instead of tomatoes. Next time I might cut back on the brown sugar. I thought they were a little sweet, but others thought they were wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I couldn't ask for a better bean recipe! My family loved it! I didn't have to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a great sweeter version of baked beans. So when I am taking these to a gathering with more younger guests, I use this recipe and it is always hit. The ham is a great surprise and I like that the bacon is in the recipe. I have always disliked the full strip of bacon on top of the baked beans. The recipe doesn't specify on packed or loose brown sugar so I did NOT pack it and it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
One word: AMAZING! Thick and sticky, these are just the best EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Good recipe. I only used 1/2 a cup of brown sugar. That was more than sweet enough. I also added in a some cut up onion. I put everything in the crockpot. Bacon tends to be too chewy in the crockpot so I used ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe!! I have been taking it to potluck dinners for over a year and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gailytay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Took these to a pot luck and they were a huge hit. Even better cold from the fridge the next day. Have been trying to find a recipe that could mimic the beans my mom used to make - these are very close! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My wife really liked this. I used a pound of pork saugage and omited the bacon. I also used 2 cans of great nothern beans a can of butter beans and a can of lima beans, all drained and rinsed. I used a quart of stewed tomatoes in lieu of the diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
PERFECT! I put the beans in the crock-pot (instead of baking) and dumped all the ingredients in. I used 'real bacon' bits from the salad isle and served with ham rather than add the ham in with the cooking. I used these at a Christmas Kids Party - There wasn't anything left! Just as good as those Southern Baked Beans - if you like the sweet taste, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States