Mom's Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a good recipe but it comes out very sweet! I would reduce the amount of sugar. Our local grocery store has really good baked beans but I thought I would try to make my own. With all the time this takes I think it's worth it to just buy them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Unbelievably good. I was a bit of a skeptic approaching this since the main ingredient is canned baked beans. It seemed like culinary cheating, but it all worked out great! I will add I didn't use the molasses, since I didn't have it. But I did use all the other suggested ingredients and this was simply awesome!! You really have to let it cook for the duration, which is a long time, but it makes all the flavors meld better. Thanks for this. This will definitely be a repeat recipe in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
These are the easist, yummiest beans I have ever made. My dad swears he has the best recipe, but I think once he trys these he'll change his mind! I always leave out the tomatoes, and sometimes use bacon pieces (not bits) instead of slices. This recipe is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noz100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made these and they were really good, my husband really liked them they were a bit too sweet for me. I did read the previous reviews and only used 1/2 a cup of sugar but they still seemed too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
These are by far the VERY BEST baked beans I've had! My Aunt has been the "Queen of Baked Beans" in our family forever - my mother (her sister) just asked me to bring these to our family reunion after having them once at a bbq - and my Aunt gave me the nod to go ahead! I followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a thing! You'll want extra for the next day, I suggest you squirrel some away before you serve or they'll be gone! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Boat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was a little leary of the amount of mustard... but turned out to be exactly what I was hoping for. SWEET AND DELICIOUS! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
UMMMMM...DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I get rave reviews every time I make these baked beans. They are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made this for a cookout at my home recently and it was great! I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic, everyone loved them! Thank you for the recipe and Happy Cooking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
better than mom's home-made!! I used Bush's Boston baked as well as Bourbon beans to start with. I used ready-made real bacon bits. I loosely measured the ingredients, and added a larger amount of molasses for that deep-browned taste. I put these in a slow cooker for a couple of hours, but they didn't thicken, so transferred them to a bean crock and convection-cooked them with no lid for the last hr. Next time, I would start them the night before, or early morn. and cook all day if using crock-pot. Alternatively, if using a bean crock I would allow for at least 3 or 4 hours in a med.(300*)oven. They do thicken nicely as they cool and they are even better as 2nd or 3rd day leftovers...if they last that long!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States