Mom's Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Made these for my dad and husband on father's day, and it was a big hit. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Awesome! I love the semi-homemade aspect of this recipe; So simple, but wonderful taste. I did sub honey for the molasses, just cause that's what I had on hand and I omitted the salt, as I thought the bacon would add enough. Used Costco's maple bacon, which is surprisingly superior to standard bacon, and it really added to the over all flavor. Oh, and I used spicy brown mustard instead of plain yellow mustard which I think added a nice depth, rather than a tangy zip you might get from yellow. Mixed it all up in the crock pot dish, covered, and left in the frige overnight, then just put it on low for a few hours the day of. This will be a permanent addition to my BBQ repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a good recipe but it comes out very sweet! I would reduce the amount of sugar. Our local grocery store has really good baked beans but I thought I would try to make my own. With all the time this takes I think it's worth it to just buy them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Unbelievably good. I was a bit of a skeptic approaching this since the main ingredient is canned baked beans. It seemed like culinary cheating, but it all worked out great! I will add I didn't use the molasses, since I didn't have it. But I did use all the other suggested ingredients and this was simply awesome!! You really have to let it cook for the duration, which is a long time, but it makes all the flavors meld better. Thanks for this. This will definitely be a repeat recipe in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
These are the easist, yummiest beans I have ever made. My dad swears he has the best recipe, but I think once he trys these he'll change his mind! I always leave out the tomatoes, and sometimes use bacon pieces (not bits) instead of slices. This recipe is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noz100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made these and they were really good, my husband really liked them they were a bit too sweet for me. I did read the previous reviews and only used 1/2 a cup of sugar but they still seemed too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
These are by far the VERY BEST baked beans I've had! My Aunt has been the "Queen of Baked Beans" in our family forever - my mother (her sister) just asked me to bring these to our family reunion after having them once at a bbq - and my Aunt gave me the nod to go ahead! I followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a thing! You'll want extra for the next day, I suggest you squirrel some away before you serve or they'll be gone! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Boat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was a little leary of the amount of mustard... but turned out to be exactly what I was hoping for. SWEET AND DELICIOUS! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
UMMMMM...DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I get rave reviews every time I make these baked beans. They are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States