Mom's Baked Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My (wonderful) Aunt used to make the BEST baked beans in the world. Since loosing her to breast cancer last March, I have been on the prowl for a recipe close to hers. This is somewhat close. I'm positive that she added brown sugar (which I did not add) and bacon, which I did add. This is a good recipe, I'm gonna play with it to see if I can get it right, the liquid smoke was very distinctive the next day, not bad, but noticable. Thanks Bob! Peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very tasty! I halved this recipe and baked in a loaf pan. My only addition was 1/4 cup of shredded pork. Topped with 2 strips of bacon before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These were really good baked beans. The second time (and every time since) that I made these, I added about 1/4 c. yellow mustard, 1/4 c. brown sugar, and some garlic powder. Hubby loves it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Awesome! This reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make. She used to add bacon and brown sugar in addition to molasses and hers also took a long time to bake. These were so good and I love the addition of liquid smoke. I will definitely use this recipe over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Best baked beans I've ever had. The liquid smoke is what does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is very tasty. I think I used bush's baked beans (original) which already had some sugar in it and the recipe came out a bit too sweet for me. Maybe I'll just use plain beans next time. Regardless, the flavor was excellent. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Best baked beans! I love the use of molasses versus traditional brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addj_chase

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good and easy!! I didn't have canned baked beans so I used plain pork and beans and added a bit more bbq sauce and some red chilis and we were pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Not bad. Very easy and fairly tasty. Liked the addition of the liquid smoke, but still searching for something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Thank you mom for such a good recipe. My family raved about how good these beans were. Suggestion: I used Sweet Baby Rays Bar B Que sauce. You can purchase it at any major supermaket. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States