Mom's Baked Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It just doesn't get any easier than this... and they taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This didn't have enough beans for me, so I am rating what I did. I used 2 pork&beans undrained, 16oz size cans, 2 drained pinto beans, 2 drained dark red kidney beans and 1 can of refried beans. I used 3 medium onions, doubled the molasses and barbeque sauce (Kraft hot) and used 2 tsp of hickory smoke salt. Do not add any salt! I didn't have any liquid. Cooked it all in a big bean pot and stirred every half hour. Total cooking time 2 1/2 hrs. on 325F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious and simple to make - very delicious flavor! My mother, who doesn't LOVE baked beans, LOVED THESE! She had several helpings! Love these - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used Bush's vegetarian baked beans because I wanted to be able to taste the flavor of the liquid smoke. Other beans had added hickory or bacon. The smoke flavor didn't come through at all. Even when I increased the liquid smoke. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added 1/4 cup mustard and brown sugar and garlic. But I thought it was too much mustard. Cooked all day in the slow cooker. I don't like soupy beans, glad I drained off the liquid in the canned beans first because the slow cooker made them too soupy even with draining. Doubt I would make these again. They weren't that more impressive than opening up a can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Best baked beans! I love the use of molasses versus traditional brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by add_chase

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good and easy!! I didn't have canned baked beans so I used plain pork and beans and added a bit more bbq sauce and some red chilis and we were pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Awesome! This reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make. She used to add bacon and brown sugar in addition to molasses and hers also took a long time to bake. These were so good and I love the addition of liquid smoke. I will definitely use this recipe over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I thought the bake time was a lil off. Seems way to long. I took it out of the oven way before recommended bake time and it was still a bit mushy. The flavor was great though. I added cooked bacon towards the end. YUM! Will make again, but maybe a different brand of beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very tasty! I halved this recipe and baked in a loaf pan. My only addition was 1/4 cup of shredded pork. Topped with 2 strips of bacon before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Everybody loved it! Men said I was trying to take over their "baked beans titles". It was really fun! The only change I made was to add a tablespoon or two of regular yellow mustard. I got the idea after reading reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States