Mom's Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Okay pancakes; I might make these again. I read the reviews before making them and the only things I would say is that if you're like me and you have the "just add water" kind of pancake mixes (the kind that doesn't require eggs or oil, etc), you might NOT want to use all the milk in the recipe. The addition of the eggs and applesauce thinned the batter down considerably. Good thing I added the milk a little bit at a time, and didn't need to use all of it in the end; it would have been a very runny batter otherwise. I would also cut down on the cinnamon, as I would've liked to have tasted more of the apple flavor. I think the name is misleading; these should be called cinnamon pancakes. From the name, I was expecting more of an apple flavor. Maybe next time I'll add some fresh, thinly sliced apples to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
One of the reviewers gave the most helpful tip: Do NOT use a "just add water" pancake mix. Use a "real" pancake mix. Also, the lemon juice makes a big difference, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
My kids really liked these. We used cinnamon applesauce, left out the lemon juice (didn't have any) and used Krusteaz Buttermilk mix. I did add just a little extra milk to make up for not using the lemon juice. Thank you Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
these were yummy. not overly sweet and with the syrup I made to put on top, the pancakes were not sweet like regular pancakes & syrup. Made a Cinnamon Apple Syrup to put on them that I found in my taste of home cookbook: 2T. cornstarch, 1/2t. cinnamon, 1/8t. salt, 1c. water, 3/4c. apple juice concentrate & 1/2t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Amazing! I made these exactly as specified and they were wonderful. Very hearty and filling, but with a wonderful light flavor. I used unsweetened applesauce and 1 % milk, with Krusteaz buttermilk mix, and the recipe made 13 1/4-cup pancakes that were only 60 calories each. And they were extremely easy to make. I can see (as other reviewers suggest) adding more milk to make them lighter, but they were also great as is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used the Homemade Pancake Mix from this site because I used all my off-brand pancake mix several months back. I used sour milk and an organic blueberry applesauce I bought cheaply at Grocery Outlet. I served it with Homemade Pancake Syrup, which is also from this site. My kids inhaled them. There were some leftover, so I froze them two a piece in freezer bags. All I have to do is heat them in the toaster next morning I'm short on time. EDITED REVIEW: I have made these pancakes many times now. One of my favorite ways to make it is using homemade apple butter in place of the apple sauce with my homemade pancake mix. My whole family loves it. There's rarely any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I highly recommend these pancakes! I doubled the recipe as there are 5 of us and it only called for 4 servings. These pancakes are very filling, and make quite a bit, so sticking with the original might have been okay! I did add about 1/3 cup more milk as my hubby hates thick pancakes. (I have been through numerous pancake recipes trying to find one he would like) They ended up still being very thick. But to my delight he said these were his absolute favorite pancakes. And as an added bonus they made the house smell wonderful! I will definately keep this recipe!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Shirley - your mother is a genius! I rarely use store-bought pancake mix but the mix sits in my cupboard and this is an awesome way to use it up! These were terriffic!! We LOVED them! I did add a tsp of vanilla and used just a touch more of milk. They turned out fluffy, flavorful and make for a darn good breakfast!! Many thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Didn't even have to think about the 5 rating I gave this one!! It is, without a doubt, the BEST pancakes I have ever had! I thought the recipe I usually make was, but this is even better. The only thing I did different was add a little more milk, because the batter was too thick. I topped them with cinnabutter, the recipe that I also got on this site. Even my picky 1 year old, that doesn't normally eat pancakes, went for these. Thank you sooo much Shirley for sharing this recipe. I can see why it was always requested at your house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These are good pancakes and I will make them again. I also agree with the lady that said, people should stop changing the recipes and then giving them a bad rating. My wife does the same thing and it drives me crazy. If it calls for 1/2 cup of evaperated milk, she will use 2% and then say these do not taste good and wonder why. JUST DRIVES ME NUTS !! Pleaqse try the recipes as they are written, or don't bother to rate it. Ron Gaydosh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States