Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Oh, My! My family...husband, son, sister, niece...all declared this as their new favorite pie, ever! Not just the best Apple Pie they'd ever had, but their all-time favorite pie! It was so easy to make and incredibly yummy!! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Definitely not enough apples, and the topping was hard to get right - I simply added more apples and made my own topping with rolled oats, brown sugar, and butter after two attempts and ending up with a doughy mess both times. Everyone liked it so I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmen Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Delicious pie. Disappeared quickly! Next time will make in 9X13 pan, doubling recipe. My only change was to add lemon juice, my mom always did that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I just made this recipe with a few adjustments. I used brown sugar instead of white and a little less then what the recipe called for. I also increased the apples and added two table spoons of ground almond meal/flour. Instead of the whiskey I drizzled a bit of maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So yummy. Make with a Streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was my first home made apple pie and my sweetheart loved it. He said it was one of the best apple pies he ever tasted. Thanks for the recipe, he requested that I make it again for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I believe I'm going to love it! I haven't made this yet,but I see it says to serve warm. Has anyone served it cold? And is it still as yummy as everyone says?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwmonroe04
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I MADE THE MOM'S APPLE PIE, WITH A FEW CREATIVE ADDITIONS: FOR THE BOTTOM CRUST, I BUTTERED IT, THEN DUSTED IT WITH CINNAMON & BROWN SUGAR..THEN I BLIND-BAKED THE BOTTOM CRUST TO A LIGHT BROWN I TOASTED WALNUTS FOR THE FILLING, I ADDED I/2 CUP BROWN SUGAR, 1/2CUP WHITE SUGAR AND MELTED IT INTO THE BUTTER & (3) TAB FLOUR AND WATER TO MAKE A PASTE, I ADDED 2 TAB OF HENNESSEY/ ( DIDN'T HAVE WHISKEY- LOL! ) ADDED 1-TEAS OF CINNAMON, LESS THAN 1/4 TEAS OF NUTMEG - ALL THIS MAKING A PASTE OR SAUCE LIKE MIXTURE , ADDED WALNUTS AND FRIED APPLES TO BLIND-BAKED BOTTOM CRUST...ADDED LATTACE CRUST TOP, BUTTERED IT..SPRINKLED IT WITH MORE CINNAMON & BROWN SUGAR TO MAKE IT CRISP! NOTE: YOU CAN ADD MORE WATER OR HENNESY TO THIN MIXTURE! HAPPY EATING, KW MONROE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My husband really enjoyed this pie. Easy to make and tasty. I put in 7 apples, increased the cinnamon & nutmeg to 2t.cinnamon & 1t.nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have made this recipe for a years now.....it is always the rave of the holiday celebration!! Funny, but I remember watching the Waltons as a child and the two Baldwin sisters always put "papa's recipe" in their apple pie :-) (Which was whiskey) A deliciously flavored apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Square, New York, USA
Living In: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States