Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I just made this recipe with a few adjustments. I used brown sugar instead of white and a little less then what the recipe called for. I also increased the apples and added two table spoons of ground almond meal/flour. Instead of the whiskey I drizzled a bit of maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So yummy. Make with a Streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was my first home made apple pie and my sweetheart loved it. He said it was one of the best apple pies he ever tasted. Thanks for the recipe, he requested that I make it again for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I believe I'm going to love it! I haven't made this yet,but I see it says to serve warm. Has anyone served it cold? And is it still as yummy as everyone says?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwmonroe04
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I MADE THE MOM'S APPLE PIE, WITH A FEW CREATIVE ADDITIONS: FOR THE BOTTOM CRUST, I BUTTERED IT, THEN DUSTED IT WITH CINNAMON & BROWN SUGAR..THEN I BLIND-BAKED THE BOTTOM CRUST TO A LIGHT BROWN I TOASTED WALNUTS FOR THE FILLING, I ADDED I/2 CUP BROWN SUGAR, 1/2CUP WHITE SUGAR AND MELTED IT INTO THE BUTTER & (3) TAB FLOUR AND WATER TO MAKE A PASTE, I ADDED 2 TAB OF HENNESSEY/ ( DIDN'T HAVE WHISKEY- LOL! ) ADDED 1-TEAS OF CINNAMON, LESS THAN 1/4 TEAS OF NUTMEG - ALL THIS MAKING A PASTE OR SAUCE LIKE MIXTURE , ADDED WALNUTS AND FRIED APPLES TO BLIND-BAKED BOTTOM CRUST...ADDED LATTACE CRUST TOP, BUTTERED IT..SPRINKLED IT WITH MORE CINNAMON & BROWN SUGAR TO MAKE IT CRISP! NOTE: YOU CAN ADD MORE WATER OR HENNESY TO THIN MIXTURE! HAPPY EATING, KW MONROE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My husband really enjoyed this pie. Easy to make and tasty. I put in 7 apples, increased the cinnamon & nutmeg to 2t.cinnamon & 1t.nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have made this recipe for a years now.....it is always the rave of the holiday celebration!! Funny, but I remember watching the Waltons as a child and the two Baldwin sisters always put "papa's recipe" in their apple pie :-) (Which was whiskey) A deliciously flavored apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Square, New York, USA
Living In: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
this is THE perfect pie recipe. My husband will not let me make anything else. he request this to be made for every occasion, even for his birthday instead of cake. i seen that some had a soupy pie turn out, it happened to me twice and i discovered that it was the kind of apples that i had used. a simple mistake on my part ( dont use soft tender apples like McIntosh). Now i use a variety of apples, what ever is in store. for super firm crisp ( granny smiths) apples i cut the chunks a little smaller and for the rest i slice & dice as usual. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I'm not a whiskey fan, but it definitely adds something special to this pie. I liked that the filling was not overly sweet. This is my new favourite apple pie filling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this last year (2011) for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. The whiskey adds a nice depth of flavor - I used single malt scotch, since that's what I had, and it seemed to work well. I did use brown sugar instead of white (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States