Mom's Apple Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This needed some alterations for me as I found the recipe to bland for my taste. I love an apple fritter to be on the sweeter side. I used a whole can of apple pie filling vs regular apples, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix and instead of tossing in cinnamon and sugar I made a powder sugar, vanilla, and milk glaze and put it on top after coming out of the fryer. My husband agreed that the alterations after the first batch made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I didn't have any eggs (surprise!) so I used 2/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce and these were to die for!!! I also put on a donut glaze instead of the cinnamon sugar. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I added some ground cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. Dropped by heaping teaspoons, the fritters cooked for about 2 1/2 minutes on each side. Perfect. I had some leftover, so to reheat, I nuked them for a few seconds then placed them on a rack in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes to crisp them up a bit. Although they were not nearly as good as the freshly-fried fritters, they were quite respectable. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Yum, yum, yum! The only thing I had an issue with is figuring out how long to fry them. The first I took out were raw in the middle, but at the end I had it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent - airy and not greasy. Halved the recipe just to make as an evening snack and it worked perfectly. Only needed one pink lady apple and it was just "applely" enough. Wouldn't change a thing (and that's a rarity - I love to tweak recipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
They were okay at first, but weren't that flavorful and not sweet enough to be an actual fritter. This was a lot of work for not that great of a reward. They didn't keep well either and ended up turning soggy and stale after one night. A big waste of time, energy, and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These are easy and delicious. I'd like to know how to make them crispier. It's fun making them with a young friend who coats them in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Added a dash of cinnamon to the batter and used honey in place of sugar. These are good and very easy/quick to make. Not 'quite' the flavor I'm looking for, but not bad. We cut the apple us to a fine dice, but still felt too "chunky"; maybe grated apples would be better. Definitely recommend 350 vs. 375 for the oil temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. This was a quick and easy recipe for breakfast or brunch. These cooked up perfectly with a light, soft inside and a nice crunch on the outside. I cooked them in my cool daddy, as I have had good luck with when frying donuts in it. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States