Mom's Apple Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent - airy and not greasy. Halved the recipe just to make as an evening snack and it worked perfectly. Only needed one pink lady apple and it was just "applely" enough. Wouldn't change a thing (and that's a rarity - I love to tweak recipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
They were okay at first, but weren't that flavorful and not sweet enough to be an actual fritter. This was a lot of work for not that great of a reward. They didn't keep well either and ended up turning soggy and stale after one night. A big waste of time, energy, and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These are easy and delicious. I'd like to know how to make them crispier. It's fun making them with a young friend who coats them in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Added a dash of cinnamon to the batter and used honey in place of sugar. These are good and very easy/quick to make. Not 'quite' the flavor I'm looking for, but not bad. We cut the apple us to a fine dice, but still felt too "chunky"; maybe grated apples would be better. Definitely recommend 350 vs. 375 for the oil temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. This was a quick and easy recipe for breakfast or brunch. These cooked up perfectly with a light, soft inside and a nice crunch on the outside. I cooked them in my cool daddy, as I have had good luck with when frying donuts in it. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very bland batter to start with....used a lot more sugar. Vanilla extract helps lemon zest would be even better... used buttermilk and lots of it to thin down the batter to a good consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It's okay but must be eaten quick as they get soggy! Probably wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Cantino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Good but definitly needs cinnamon and extra sugar in the batter. I think a glaze goes better than the cinnamon and sugar topping too. Next time I'll make them tbsp size with hotter oil. Cooking large fritters with the oil at about 320 degrees ensured they were cooked through, but the big ones didn't have much crisp on the outside. Great recipe to play with. Side note , I followed the advice of some reviewers and grated the apple. I recommend NOT doing this if you want to be able to notice pieces of apple in the finished fritter. Using the large hole side of my grater still made the apple so small it was nearly completely incorporated in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Photo by Tdcreations
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I also made it with Whole wheat flour in place of white and 1 tbsp Baking Splenda and 1 cup milk instead of 2/3 cups. And my family loved it. This says a lot as my husband loves apple fritters! Tanya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States