Mommy's Sweet Carrot Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
If you want warm and relaxing drink this fresh from the stove it is so delicious and will put you to sleep... or you can let it chill and it is cool and refreshing... I put mine in the blender after adding everything to the milk because it was still a little chunky and it did the trick.. it did make the milk very foamy and thickened it briefly... if you are going to drink it warm I highly recommend doing this... it was awesome... I did cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet for me... good recipe I am glad I gave it a try!! UPDATE: Also tastes good with a sprinkle of cinnamon or for a different taste substitute cardamom.... still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
DELICIOUS and PRETTY :) I would serve this to anyone who I know enjoys indian food. I liked it warm as well as chilled.. even over ice. Cold was refreshing and both temps. were comforting. So glad you posted this recipe. We'll be enjoying it regularly at least throughout spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I love it! This is one good way to get the carrots down. I think I can even see better! He He!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very Good but Very Sweet. Instead of cardamom I used a mixture of ginger and cinnamon. I also cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I really liked this recipe, the kids said it was a little bitter in the finish but I attribute that to not cooking the carrots long enough before blending. You have to shake before pouring as the carrot pulp settles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I had some carrots I was looking to use and I also had some ground cardamom so I thought I would give it a try. I am so glad I did. I loved it! By the way, I don’t know how good of a substitute the ginger and cinnamon would be. The cardamom spice is a little pricey but is very distinct and unique. It is a key spice in chai tea. If you like chai tea you would probably enjoy this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This beverage is delicious. Ginger and cinnamon are not substitutes for cardamom. Cardamom is the flavor you are looking for here. Might want to dial down the sweetness level a bit, but otherwise a tasty little drink recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did use a lot less sugar though.. Cut it by nearly half. The cardamom is an inspired touch, gives the milk a zing. I hate the taste of carrots normally, so this was a good way of disguising it. Even my seven month old tried a few sips and adored it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made some modifications. 1. Smaller servings i.e. 2 2. Reduced sugar by 1/2 3. Instead of cardamon, a small pinch of cinnamon powder 4. Blended carrots with some milk (maybe about 1/4) 5. Then boiled the rest of the milk (3/4) with sugar, cinnamon and the 1/4 Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was interesting. It kind of tasted like regular milk flavored like sweet potato pie. I changed the serving to 2 with the calculate button. It called for about 1/2 carrot, but I just used 1 large carrot peeled. I cooked it in the microwave, in 4 large pieces, with about 1/2 cup or so of water, covered, for 4 minutes. To lighten it up, I subbed the sugar with 2 packets of Truvia for the 2 servings. I just blended the carrots with the milk and sweetener in the blender at once. Blend for at least 1 minute or so, to combine the carrot smoothly and avoid carrot bits. I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top of each glass, instead of using cardamom or blending. I don't why, but this drink gave me a huge energy boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States