Mommy's Sweet Carrot Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
DELICIOUS and PRETTY :) I would serve this to anyone who I know enjoys indian food. I liked it warm as well as chilled.. even over ice. Cold was refreshing and both temps. were comforting. So glad you posted this recipe. We'll be enjoying it regularly at least throughout spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I had some carrots I was looking to use and I also had some ground cardamom so I thought I would give it a try. I am so glad I did. I loved it! By the way, I don’t know how good of a substitute the ginger and cinnamon would be. The cardamom spice is a little pricey but is very distinct and unique. It is a key spice in chai tea. If you like chai tea you would probably enjoy this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very Good but Very Sweet. Instead of cardamom I used a mixture of ginger and cinnamon. I also cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
If you want warm and relaxing drink this fresh from the stove it is so delicious and will put you to sleep... or you can let it chill and it is cool and refreshing... I put mine in the blender after adding everything to the milk because it was still a little chunky and it did the trick.. it did make the milk very foamy and thickened it briefly... if you are going to drink it warm I highly recommend doing this... it was awesome... I did cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet for me... good recipe I am glad I gave it a try!! UPDATE: Also tastes good with a sprinkle of cinnamon or for a different taste substitute cardamom.... still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is good, but ive never tasted anything like it. I did follow previous reviewers instructions to add less sugar and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I really liked this recipe, the kids said it was a little bitter in the finish but I attribute that to not cooking the carrots long enough before blending. You have to shake before pouring as the carrot pulp settles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I love it! This is one good way to get the carrots down. I think I can even see better! He He!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was interesting. It kind of tasted like regular milk flavored like sweet potato pie. I changed the serving to 2 with the calculate button. It called for about 1/2 carrot, but I just used 1 large carrot peeled. I cooked it in the microwave, in 4 large pieces, with about 1/2 cup or so of water, covered, for 4 minutes. To lighten it up, I subbed the sugar with 2 packets of Truvia for the 2 servings. I just blended the carrots with the milk and sweetener in the blender at once. Blend for at least 1 minute or so, to combine the carrot smoothly and avoid carrot bits. I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top of each glass, instead of using cardamom or blending. I don't why, but this drink gave me a huge energy boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is a tasty recipe but I cut back the sugar to 2 cups and it was still too sweet. I would make it again and try 1 or 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Also, I didn't have cardamom so I used some chai tea instead (1 tbsp of loose chai mix or 1 chai tea bag). Love that it's so few ingredients...worth making again and tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this drink. I would rate it 5 stars except for that I had to cook the carrots longer than the recipe said to get them "blendable." Other than that, very good and easy. I did use soy milk so my 4 year old could have some and he really liked it. First time I have gotten him to voluntarily put carrot anything in his mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States