Mommy's Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This was a very good starter idea. I seasoned the beef as I browned it with garlic, seasoned salt and some Montreal Steak Seasoning. I skipped the green pepper, because I don't like it and used fresh mushrooms. I also used the regular Grands biscuits (not the flaky layers) that I had on hand. I cooked them up and hollowed them out. Whatever we didn't eat at supper, I rewarmed for leftovers for myself the next day. They got a little soggy, but they were so good it was worth it! I love cheese, but didn't use quite the whole 2 cups. This will definitely be made again at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very yummy and fills you up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Adding a little beef base with water, then adding the mushroom soup and cooking down another 5-8 mins before adding the cheese seemed to help my ground round. I also added fresh garlic with the veggies. I think ground chuck or a good hamburger meat can make a great difference. My husband thought it tasted like a ground beef "Philly Steak" sandwich. Very, very tasty and a much better alternative to a sloppy joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I didn't think this looked very appetizing because of the soup, but it was delicious! My husband is very picky about new food and he even loved it! I thought it tased like a cheesesteak. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I thought this was really good and so simple. The only thing I added was some garlic powder. Will definitely make again, and maybe will try it with some type of noodles instead of making sandwiches, just for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was very good. It did taste exactly like philly cheesesteak. I will be making again for sure!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe is amazing! My husband saw me making it and was a bit worried about it, but it turn out really good. He said it was one of his favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were really good. A very nice change from sloopy joes or hamburgers. Even my picky eaters liked it. A real keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Really good, a keeper! And soooo easy on a weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Surprisingly good1 I did modify it a little. I'm not big on mushrooms or cooked-in onions, so I left both out. I sauteed some peppers and fresh minced garlic and browned the meat in that. Once brown, I added the cr. of mushroom. I used onion buns and baked the open face style. I had the meat on one side and topped that with french fried onions. On the other side, I put the cheese. I baked it at 350 for about five minutes to crunch up the onions and melt the cheese. Really tasty! Tastewise, I'd give four stars (because I like to reserve five for really outstanding dishes). However, it's so quick, easy, and FILLING, that it gets five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States