Mommy's Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Our family really enjoyed this recipe, but I did add to it for more flavor. As a starting point it is great, but bland. It needs salt and pepper to taste. I also added a teaspoon of chopped garlic and 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. This gave it that philly cheesesteak flavor. I am trying to watch my bread intake so my serving was baked in a yellow bell pepper. I doubled the mushrooms as well as chopped the onions and peppers up real well so the kiddo wouldn't feel the need to pick them out. (she didn't!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desiree Wolf
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
this is a good recipe im one of the few that has to make changes so my family will eat it so first we used just hamburger fried with spaghetti sauce we baked the buns with cheese in the bottom and on the tops for dipping then added the sauce and the kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Wolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Popkum, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I decided to go for it, but instead of the mushroom soup( my family isnt a fan of it) I used velveeta cheese and fresh mushrooms that we sauteed in a bit of garlic and butter.. But all in all, it was very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
All six of us loved this. It's a keeper. I am not sure why people said that it was mushy. Mine was perfect! Only thing I did was a fresh black pepper to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
We really liked this one! I adjusted the seasonings to my family's taste. Also, I noticed that several other reviewers just toasted the rolls instead of wrapping the sandwiches and putting them in the oven. That worked out perfectly for my family, as everyone likes a different amount of filling on their rolls. I have made this recipe several times and it is fast, easy, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I thought it was very good, My husband is very picky about new recipes and he went for seconds and raved on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good! I used fresh mushrooms and added garlic. The second time I made these, I didn't bake them, just toasted the buns and served open faced. Added some pepper and spices too. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Well, I'm certainly glad I didn't skip out on this recipe like others suggested. With a little loving care and some much needed seasonings, these turned out really well. I didn't see the need to assemble and wrap the sandwiches in foil, so I just toasted the buns and everyone made their own sandwich. I don't like canned mushrooms, so I sauteed fresh with the onion and pepper. Thank you Allison!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Did not like this, at all. The mushroom flavour was overpowering, it was too bland, and crusty bread ended up going soggy!! That never happens! I highly recommend anyone skip out on this one, and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I have a husband and 4 kids ages 9,7,4,and 2 and we all love this recipe. One thing I have found is that alot of people complained it was soggy but I solved that. The secret is to use cheep and thin tin foil if it is too thick they turned out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States