Mommy's Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
We were skeptical as this dish was cooking, but have no fear, this was delicious! Didn't have Kaiser rolls, so we piled it on Texas toast and put them in the over open-faced, which browned the top nicely. It didn't look all that appetizing, but we were pleasantly surprized at how tasty this was--like a very cheesy cheeesburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This looked like "hamburger helper without the noodles on a bun." Taste was okay. I think the meat mix could benefit from some spices, even though I did add a dash of garlic/onion powder when I added the soup...but it needed "more." The combination of the funky look and mediocre taste makes me wonder if I'll try this again. It wasn't bad but I think it needs a little more "Umph" to get me to make it twice. However, it was a snap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very yummy and fills you up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Adding a little beef base with water, then adding the mushroom soup and cooking down another 5-8 mins before adding the cheese seemed to help my ground round. I also added fresh garlic with the veggies. I think ground chuck or a good hamburger meat can make a great difference. My husband thought it tasted like a ground beef "Philly Steak" sandwich. Very, very tasty and a much better alternative to a sloppy joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I didn't think this looked very appetizing because of the soup, but it was delicious! My husband is very picky about new food and he even loved it! I thought it tased like a cheesesteak. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I thought this was really good and so simple. The only thing I added was some garlic powder. Will definitely make again, and maybe will try it with some type of noodles instead of making sandwiches, just for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was alright. It wasn't as good as I expected. My only change was to add around 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I probably will not be making this again. It was just too bland for me. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was very good. It did taste exactly like philly cheesesteak. I will be making again for sure!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
My family really liked the recipe, but I added about a 1 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash for a little bit of spice as my husband likes spicy things. It also worked well for a cooking group that I am part of, however I did not stuff the buns prior to freezing. In the summer, they work well to heat them on a low grill outside instead of in the oven and create extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
THIS WAS PRETTY GOOD...TASTED LIKE BEEF STROGANOFF ON A BUN..I USED LEAN GROUND BEEF AND ONLY USED HALF THE AMOUNT OF CHEESE TO MAKE IT A LITTLE LOWER IN FAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States