Mommy's Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a great to-go dinner. I made it one night before my husband and son left to go hunting. I left the sandwiches wrapped in foil and placed them in a brown paper bag to go - they were still hot when they arrived and they both loved them. It is now one of our family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I DOUBLED THIS RECIPE USING A LITTLE MORE THAN TWO POUNDS OF HAMBUGER WITH TWO CANS OF SOUP, MINE WAS NOT RUNNY AT ALL, I DID NOT ADD THE MUSHROOMS AS I DIDNT HAVE ANY BUT WE REALLY LIKED IT, I DID ADD MINCED GARLIC (I DO TO JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING) SUPER EASY AND NOT A LOT OF WORK OR CLEANUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I thought this recipe was not very good. We ate it but I would never make it again. I even added spices and it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by va mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Surprisingly good1 I did modify it a little. I'm not big on mushrooms or cooked-in onions, so I left both out. I sauteed some peppers and fresh minced garlic and browned the meat in that. Once brown, I added the cr. of mushroom. I used onion buns and baked the open face style. I had the meat on one side and topped that with french fried onions. On the other side, I put the cheese. I baked it at 350 for about five minutes to crunch up the onions and melt the cheese. Really tasty! Tastewise, I'd give four stars (because I like to reserve five for really outstanding dishes). However, it's so quick, easy, and FILLING, that it gets five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Really good, a keeper! And soooo easy on a weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I thought something that called for so much cheese couldn't possibly turn out wrong, but I was mistaken. Maybe there was something wrong with my method, but the filling was entirely too runny and pretty bland. I'm not even certain that adding some spices to the beef could improve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I didn't add the mushrooms but did everything else per recipe. It's really good, not great but I will be making again. Oh, I did add some minced garlic but I always add garlic to ground beef. So to sum up, this is easy and tasty. We ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was pretty good. In the middle. I went ahead and added 1 tsp of garlic powder as others had done. Next time I don't think I will. I also didn't use a can of mushrooms, so I don't think what I did was true to form. Still, I will probably make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were really good. A very nice change from sloopy joes or hamburgers. Even my picky eaters liked it. A real keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This recipe is amazing! My husband saw me making it and was a bit worried about it, but it turn out really good. He said it was one of his favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States