Mommy's Banana Suzy Q's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Yum! Our friends loved these as did my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Oh so good. I used a mini loaf pan for 1/2 the recipe and made cupcakes with the rest of the batter. Baked them both for 16 minutes. The cake is really tasty. I wasn't thrilled with the frosting at first it was a little grainy and not very sweet. I added about 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 2T cream. Could be that it was grainy because I was out of shortening so I used all butter. Not sure if that was why it was grainy or not. Family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I have to thank you for this gem in my recipe box! The frosting filling was perfect. It wasn't too sweet or heavy, so it didn't overpower the delicious flavors of the banana cake. I will definitely be trying variations of this recipe using chocolate cake for a traditional Suzie-Q cake. Also, I'm going to try adding in a bit of peanut butter to the frosting for a PB Chocolate treat I know my family will appreciate. Thanks so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
YUMMY!!!! I WILL be making these again! I wonder if this would work as a sponge cake roll? I will try it and let you all know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I think this would've been great, but reeeeally didn't want to use full fat butter AND shortening, so I used reduced-fat Blue Bonnet margarine. The end result; the frosting tasted right, but the texture was running and greasy-looking. Not appetizing, not that fluffy filling I was so excited about. Not even usable. Bummer! So, my advice is to definitely use full-fat butter/shortening if you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These were so yummy. I couldn't stop eating them. The filling is excellent. I used chocolate cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made cupcakes and filled them with the cream filling. Then I made a buttercream icing flavored with banana extract. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Very good.My husband loved it.My kids enjoyed them as well.I am going to also try chocolate cake mix and see how that works.This is a yummy recipe.Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
These are scrumptious, yummy and delicious. They remind me of the Banana Suzy-Q's we used to buy back home. Everyone LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States