Mommy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made muffins out of this recipe. It was a little work buttering and cinnamon-sugaring the little muffin cups but the end result was worth it. I remarked to my husband how much they looked like snickerdoodles on the top and after I tasted them, it is remarkably like snickerdoodles.......banana snickerdoodles! I'll make this recipe again, it's one of the better banana breads I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fabulous banana bread! Moist, sweet with just enough spice and the cinnamon-sugar crust is a really nice addition - what more could you want from a banana bread? I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and added 2 tsp. of vanilla and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I topped this with turbinado sugar vs. regular sugar for that little extra "crunch". This smelled wonderful while it baked and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Just made this and it was delicious especially with the cinnamon sugar. Sprinkled what was loose in the bottom on the top and worked out great. For those of you who love peanut butter and banana sandwiches, I must admit that I do put peanut butter on banana bread. Don't knock it until you try it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is a wonderful banana bread recipe! So moist and full of flavor. Plus the cinnamon-sugar crust gives it a sweetness that I haven't tasted in others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Only modificaton I made was to add nuts....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoLana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This recipe was good, but not great. I made it at the same time as the Banana Crumb Muffins from this site to compare them. Everyone agreed that the other recipe was alot better. These ones came out kind of dense and just didn't have as much flavor or sweetness. I didn't actually try either breads myself, but this was what I gathered from the reviews my family gave me. I probably would not make these again. Thanks anyways for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is probably the best banana bread I've ever made. Usually sweet breads are so difficult and don't get done in the middle before burning. This one was perfectly done in the time specified. And the taste is outstanding! I do like the cinnamon sugar on the outside. I used turbinado sugar on the top instead of plain. I used buttermilk instead of regular just because I had some to use up. I didn't measure the bananas, just dumped in three medium sized ones that were completely black. This will be a repeat recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious! Love the spices. This is now my go-to banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great recipe without the baking soda. Dropped the sugar down to 1/2 cup, used whole wheat flour and used 1/4 Torchbearer's Mango Papaya Sauce. Came out moist with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Cotta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I liked the cinnamon crust, it was very tasty. I wouldn't make this again, however. I found it fell apart and dried out too quickly, compared with my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States