Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Excellent recipe! I only had 1/2 cup of wine, so I subsitituted 1/4 cup gingerale. I added 1 tsp vanilla too. I cooked the recipe as cupcakes and topped with the Cool Whipped Frosting on this site. They were delicious! My whole family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Great cake and easy to make. Almost came out like a pound cake. Next time will try it with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I substituted cream sherry for white wine and dusted with the powdered sugar. Fresh fruit would have been wonderful. It you like a dessert that isn't too sweet, this is absolutely the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Great cake and so easy! I dusted the sides of the cake with cinnamon and sugar, as suggested, and I also frosted the top of the cake with white chocolate almond icing and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. It made a really pretty birthday cake for my sister, I put a fresh flower in the middle and candles all around. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake was wonderful! It was incredibly moist and flavorful. One of my FAVORITES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a very tasty cake, let the cake sit, it needs hours or preferably overnight, before it's at it's best. The bake time was perfect. I really liked the taste of this cake, thanks so much for the recipe, this is so easy and one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This cake was easy, and came out moist and wonderful. It was a big hit at the 4th of July dinner at work. I used Merlot and it left a nice subtle flavor but not overpowering. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very good recipe. I made it with Beringer Pinot Grigio and it turned out perfect. What a wonderful new addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
8/2/2000 This is a great recipe!!! I have been making this cake since Mar-99 and I get requests all the time for it again and again. It works as a bundt, layer, or even a sheet cake! I've made it with chardonnay and chablis but really, really good with merlot!!!! Also great, plain with powdered sugar, great with fresh berries, whipped cream. I make it with a cream cheese frosting that people love. 8 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup margarine 1/2 tsp. vanilla about 4 cups powdered sugar - more or less to make creamy and smooth Mix with electric mixer for about 2 minutes AWESOME! 14-Nov-2003 Still making this cake and people love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I make this cake all the time. It takes just a few minutes to prepare and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States