Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
8/2/2000 This is a great recipe!!! I have been making this cake since Mar-99 and I get requests all the time for it again and again. It works as a bundt, layer, or even a sheet cake! I've made it with chardonnay and chablis but really, really good with merlot!!!! Also great, plain with powdered sugar, great with fresh berries, whipped cream. I make it with a cream cheese frosting that people love. 8 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup margarine 1/2 tsp. vanilla about 4 cups powdered sugar - more or less to make creamy and smooth Mix with electric mixer for about 2 minutes AWESOME! 14-Nov-2003 Still making this cake and people love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
A cake with wine...now that caught my eye! Ok, let me start by saying I love to make my own cakes from scratch, however...this bundt cake was fantastic with a little semi-homemade kick! The cake was so moist and flavorful! The only thing I changed with the recipe was to reduce the oil by 1/4 cup and replaced it with applesauce, and I followed other reviewers advice and dusted my bundt pan with cinnamon/sugar. I also made a cream cheese and white chocolate drizzle to go over the top...the entire cake was gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delicious! Used ultra moist yellow cake mix, as someone suggested. Also cut down the nutmeg to 3/4 teaspoon and 1/4-1/2 cinnamon. Also used Pam first in Bundt pan, then buttered it and dusted pan with cinnamon sugar. Used Chardonnay from a box -- so not the best quality, but it was FABULOUS. Will definitely make again! Later review: I've made this cake about a half dozen times since first trying it in late December. I have come across with a wonderful change. I had pecan chips (the really fine, almost powdered ones). I mixed those with cinnamon sugar. Coated the inside of the Bundt pan with butter, then dusted the pan with the cinnamon sugar/pecan mix. This gives the cake such a wonderful crunchy coating, with the divine moist cake inside. Hey, definitely worth a 15 star rating, if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This cake is by far one of the best cakes I've made in a while. My husband asked me to make a cake for his mom's birthday (no pressure) and he loved this cake. He is the biggest critic when it comes to what I make and he actually had three slices of it at the party. We were disappointed when my mother-in-law didn't offer to take the leftover cake home which she usually does! I dusted the bundt cake with cinnamon and sugar and it worked out great. Letting the cake cool in the pan for at least 10 minutes allowed the cake to release itself from the pan with no breaks. I also dusted the cake with powdered sugar and made the cream cheese frosting that was suggested by another reviewer. The cream cheese frosting was used sparingly on top of the cake with a little coming down the sides. In the center of the bundt cake I placed a small cup with a little water and made a flower arrangement to dress up the cake a little more. This recipe is foolproof as long as you follow the directions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a very tasty cake, let the cake sit, it needs hours or preferably overnight, before it's at it's best. The bake time was perfect. I really liked the taste of this cake, thanks so much for the recipe, this is so easy and one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I used yellow cake mix, butterscotch pudding and cream sherry because I didn't have all the ingredients in the recipe. I also added about 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. Delicious!!! I will definitely make this recipe again. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLINKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This cake was so moist. I made it for my friend's birthday, and everyone loved it. I used 1 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and I thought 1tsp would have been enough. I used two 9-inch round pans instead of a bundt pan. I baked them for 20 minutes and I think 17-18 minutes would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I DESPISE box cake mixes, this one is different. I use a yellow cake mix, which seems to give the cake more body AND I use sherry wine instead of white wine, which also gives the cake more flavor. I sprinkle a GENEROUS amount of powdered sugar on top. My guests devour this cake and always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My mother-in-law used to make "wine cake" often, for special occasions or Sunday get togethers. There were never leftovers. I wanted to know how she made it, but it was a family secret not to be shared. After 25 years and the invention of computers and the "internet", YAHOO, i entered "wine cake" in the browser and low and behold, here is a recipe thats near close to what she baked. I spoke with my sister-in-law the other night about the recipe, she has offered to give it to me, but it seems its the same as this one. One difference, I doubled this batch and used one box white cake mix and one box yellow cake mix. I also used 3/4 applesauce and topped off with the veggie oil. I used chardonnay, although any dry wine will do. Make sure you use INSTANT pudding. I think the vanilla pudding mix gives it that added moistness. I couldn't find the exact frosting she made, so I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II and added 2 tsp white wine. After frosting the cake, I sprinkled chopped walnuts for a great finish. The family loved it and requests are pouring in for Christmas. Thanks Again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Really moist and delicious! I used merlot instead of white wine. The cake mix looked really weird, but when the cake was cooked it was beautiful. Everybody liked the nutmeg...I probably used a little extra. I topped this cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States