Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
8/2/2000 This is a great recipe!!! I have been making this cake since Mar-99 and I get requests all the time for it again and again. It works as a bundt, layer, or even a sheet cake! I've made it with chardonnay and chablis but really, really good with merlot!!!! Also great, plain with powdered sugar, great with fresh berries, whipped cream. I make it with a cream cheese frosting that people love. 8 oz cream cheese 1/2 cup margarine 1/2 tsp. vanilla about 4 cups powdered sugar - more or less to make creamy and smooth Mix with electric mixer for about 2 minutes AWESOME! 14-Nov-2003 Still making this cake and people love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
Very delicious & moist. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
very easy. very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I used yellow cake mix, butterscotch pudding and cream sherry because I didn't have all the ingredients in the recipe. I also added about 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. Delicious!!! I will definitely make this recipe again. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLINKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This cake is good! I followed your advice in coating the pan with cinnamon and sugar, making the cake taste better! Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I make this cake all the time. It takes just a few minutes to prepare and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Excellent recipe! I only had 1/2 cup of wine, so I subsitituted 1/4 cup gingerale. I added 1 tsp vanilla too. I cooked the recipe as cupcakes and topped with the Cool Whipped Frosting on this site. They were delicious! My whole family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Great cake and easy to make. Almost came out like a pound cake. Next time will try it with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake was wonderful! It was incredibly moist and flavorful. One of my FAVORITES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a very tasty cake, let the cake sit, it needs hours or preferably overnight, before it's at it's best. The bake time was perfect. I really liked the taste of this cake, thanks so much for the recipe, this is so easy and one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States