Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This cake is by far one of the best cakes I've made in a while. My husband asked me to make a cake for his mom's birthday (no pressure) and he loved this cake. He is the biggest critic when it comes to what I make and he actually had three slices of it at the party. We were disappointed when my mother-in-law didn't offer to take the leftover cake home which she usually does! I dusted the bundt cake with cinnamon and sugar and it worked out great. Letting the cake cool in the pan for at least 10 minutes allowed the cake to release itself from the pan with no breaks. I also dusted the cake with powdered sugar and made the cream cheese frosting that was suggested by another reviewer. The cream cheese frosting was used sparingly on top of the cake with a little coming down the sides. In the center of the bundt cake I placed a small cup with a little water and made a flower arrangement to dress up the cake a little more. This recipe is foolproof as long as you follow the directions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
What a great cake...not sweet at all but still fabulous. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUTYGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is an excellent cake to make. It is super easy, fast and delicious! I will definitely make it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This cake was so moist. I made it for my friend's birthday, and everyone loved it. I used 1 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and I thought 1tsp would have been enough. I used two 9-inch round pans instead of a bundt pan. I baked them for 20 minutes and I think 17-18 minutes would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lois
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This cake was so good.i send a photo of it.my friend's all wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
very moist and tasty! Baked in a bundt pan, cake was very elegant sprinkled with powdered sugar and fresh, edible flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was a really good cake. The cinnamon sugar on the crust was a nice touch, and the cake went well with berries and sugar or cream. I used a white merlot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Really moist and delicious! I used merlot instead of white wine. The cake mix looked really weird, but when the cake was cooked it was beautiful. Everybody liked the nutmeg...I probably used a little extra. I topped this cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
The cake was great! I did take into consideration other reviews and didn't add as much nutmeg and did let is sit for a couple of hours. I used white wine and it was very moist and flavorful. I made a double batch and used two 9x13 aluminum pans. One was for a bake sale and it was beautiful dusted with powdered sugar and lined with the cinnamon & sugar mixture, the other with cocoa - both wonderful. My family is asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was excellent! It baked up so tall, and was so moist. The cinnamon-sugar coating was a definite bonus. I did think it had a 'holiday' flavor with the nutmeg, so I think I would serve it only at Christmas or Thanksgiving. Surprisingly, I found it was very similar in taste to the 'Eggnog Quick Bread' on this site, which I bake during the holidays. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States