Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
What a great cake...not sweet at all but still fabulous. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUTYGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is an excellent cake to make. It is super easy, fast and delicious! I will definitely make it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This cake was so moist. I made it for my friend's birthday, and everyone loved it. I used 1 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and I thought 1tsp would have been enough. I used two 9-inch round pans instead of a bundt pan. I baked them for 20 minutes and I think 17-18 minutes would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lois
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This cake was so good.i send a photo of it.my friend's all wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
very moist and tasty! Baked in a bundt pan, cake was very elegant sprinkled with powdered sugar and fresh, edible flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was a really good cake. The cinnamon sugar on the crust was a nice touch, and the cake went well with berries and sugar or cream. I used a white merlot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Really moist and delicious! I used merlot instead of white wine. The cake mix looked really weird, but when the cake was cooked it was beautiful. Everybody liked the nutmeg...I probably used a little extra. I topped this cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
The cake was great! I did take into consideration other reviews and didn't add as much nutmeg and did let is sit for a couple of hours. I used white wine and it was very moist and flavorful. I made a double batch and used two 9x13 aluminum pans. One was for a bake sale and it was beautiful dusted with powdered sugar and lined with the cinnamon & sugar mixture, the other with cocoa - both wonderful. My family is asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was excellent! It baked up so tall, and was so moist. The cinnamon-sugar coating was a definite bonus. I did think it had a 'holiday' flavor with the nutmeg, so I think I would serve it only at Christmas or Thanksgiving. Surprisingly, I found it was very similar in taste to the 'Eggnog Quick Bread' on this site, which I bake during the holidays. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday and it turned out SPECTACULAR! I actually made it in two 9" round pans and for the topping, got some store-bought vanilla icing, mixed in some champagne extract to cut the store-bought taste and decorated it with fresh berries. I served it at a little party and everyone RAVED about it- it's so flavorful and moist. I will be using this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States