Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
After reading the other reviews, I used merlot instead of white wine. It tasted great and the nutmeg really gives it that extra kick. One problem; using red wine kind of turns the cake a grey color. It didn't effect the taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This recipe made a cake that reminded me of my childhood. I used sherry for the wine and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
i used yellow cake and sherry and i topped it with a little sherry and alot of sugar simmered in a pot...ohh yeah! I only cooked it for 40 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This cake was SO good! I used Chardonnay, and covered it in homemade cream cheese frosting. Even family members who won't usually eat dessert had a piece after others went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delicious! Used ultra moist yellow cake mix, as someone suggested. Also cut down the nutmeg to 3/4 teaspoon and 1/4-1/2 cinnamon. Also used Pam first in Bundt pan, then buttered it and dusted pan with cinnamon sugar. Used Chardonnay from a box -- so not the best quality, but it was FABULOUS. Will definitely make again! Later review: I've made this cake about a half dozen times since first trying it in late December. I have come across with a wonderful change. I had pecan chips (the really fine, almost powdered ones). I mixed those with cinnamon sugar. Coated the inside of the Bundt pan with butter, then dusted the pan with the cinnamon sugar/pecan mix. This gives the cake such a wonderful crunchy coating, with the divine moist cake inside. Hey, definitely worth a 15 star rating, if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used yellow mix and 3 oz pudding with sweet sherry. I also added a sherry glaze on top mixing some wine with powdered sugar and a bit of butter. I think the flavor is better if you let this sit a day or two before devouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This cake was easy and delicious! I used two 9" round pans and the bake time was 26-28 minutes. I used a very sweet white table wine, not sure if anything else would have been sweet enough for a traditional birthday cake. Frosted it with butter cream frosting and topped with red raspberries. It turned out beautifully. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have never tried a wine cake, but it sounded interesting. This is very good! I'm eating some right now. I used cooking spray in the pan and used the cinnamon-sugar. This gave a nice crispy crust on it. (I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon, just because we love cinnamon.) The crunchy crust in combination with the soft, tender center was a nice contrast. The wine added a very slight background flavor. This recipe could be the springboard for many variations. It really does scream for the addition of fruit & sauce of any favorite flavor, and I would highly recommend planning on adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My mom actually found this recipe and askeed me to make it one christmas, and we have been making it every year since! I always "flour" the pan with the cinnamon sugar mixture because it makes the outside a little crunchy and sweet. This cake is really good with whipped cream and raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great recipe! My husband does not really like cake but this one was just right-moist and not sickly sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States