Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
After reading the other reviews, I used merlot instead of white wine. It tasted great and the nutmeg really gives it that extra kick. One problem; using red wine kind of turns the cake a grey color. It didn't effect the taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This recipe made a cake that reminded me of my childhood. I used sherry for the wine and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
i used yellow cake and sherry and i topped it with a little sherry and alot of sugar simmered in a pot...ohh yeah! I only cooked it for 40 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This cake was SO good! I used Chardonnay, and covered it in homemade cream cheese frosting. Even family members who won't usually eat dessert had a piece after others went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delicious! Used ultra moist yellow cake mix, as someone suggested. Also cut down the nutmeg to 3/4 teaspoon and 1/4-1/2 cinnamon. Also used Pam first in Bundt pan, then buttered it and dusted pan with cinnamon sugar. Used Chardonnay from a box -- so not the best quality, but it was FABULOUS. Will definitely make again! Later review: I've made this cake about a half dozen times since first trying it in late December. I have come across with a wonderful change. I had pecan chips (the really fine, almost powdered ones). I mixed those with cinnamon sugar. Coated the inside of the Bundt pan with butter, then dusted the pan with the cinnamon sugar/pecan mix. This gives the cake such a wonderful crunchy coating, with the divine moist cake inside. Hey, definitely worth a 15 star rating, if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used yellow mix and 3 oz pudding with sweet sherry. I also added a sherry glaze on top mixing some wine with powdered sugar and a bit of butter. I think the flavor is better if you let this sit a day or two before devouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This cake was easy and delicious! I used two 9" round pans and the bake time was 26-28 minutes. I used a very sweet white table wine, not sure if anything else would have been sweet enough for a traditional birthday cake. Frosted it with butter cream frosting and topped with red raspberries. It turned out beautifully. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have never tried a wine cake, but it sounded interesting. This is very good! I'm eating some right now. I used cooking spray in the pan and used the cinnamon-sugar. This gave a nice crispy crust on it. (I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon, just because we love cinnamon.) The crunchy crust in combination with the soft, tender center was a nice contrast. The wine added a very slight background flavor. This recipe could be the springboard for many variations. It really does scream for the addition of fruit & sauce of any favorite flavor, and I would highly recommend planning on adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My mom actually found this recipe and askeed me to make it one christmas, and we have been making it every year since! I always "flour" the pan with the cinnamon sugar mixture because it makes the outside a little crunchy and sweet. This cake is really good with whipped cream and raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great recipe! My husband does not really like cake but this one was just right-moist and not sickly sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States