Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good and very moist. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
As recommended by someone, I substituted a box of red velvet cake and a five oz pkg of chocolate pudding and 3/4 cup raspberry wine, and kept everything else the same and it was fantastic! It was 10x better than the version made with white cake. Frosted it with cream cheese frosting. Served with a sweet Italian sparkling wine. It was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This cake is awesome and so easy to make - perfect for a holiday, company or any time. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Oh this cake is so delicious. Can't believe it comes out of a box... I used Flore de Moscato 2009 wine from Trader Joes. I must confess I did add an extra 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg because I just adore it. The baked cake was so light and I loved the nutmeg, spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
okay, but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshylahRose
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My friend gave me a recipe that's very similar to this one. Used yellow cake mix, 2/3 cup of wine and oil. Had red wine and it worked just fine. Fresh ground nutmeg is better, I use a whole nutmeg but less can work too. The cinnamon sugar dusting on the pan makes for a nice light crust, and I think it helps keep the cake from sticking in the pan. Everyone I know who has tried this cake loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Fantastic dessert. I always get rave reviews whenever I make it. I often take it pot luck meals. Easy and tasty. Make sure you mix for the full 5 minutes and it will come out perfect. I dust the pan with chocolate power as someone else suggested and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was really yummy and everyone liked it! I had to make a few changes to suite what I had on here. Here are the changes/additions that I made: 1/2c applesauce + 1/4c canola oil, to replace the whole 3/4c of oil, added about a cup of chopped strawberries, used some old white zin. that was in the fridge, used super moist white cherry chip cake mix, used 3.5oz package of pudding because it's all I had, and left out nutmeg because I forgot it (LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I love this cake. This is a family favorite. Instead of white wine I use a raspberry rhubarb wine (that is homemade). The flavor is awesome. The last time I made it I used two circular pie plates and filled it with raspberry preserves. To top it off I used a cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Lillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Just WOW! This was amazing. I made this for my sister-law's birthday party. First people were intrigued because it was made with wine and after they tasted it they couldn't stop raving about how good it was! I followed the recipe but frosted it with a homemade buttercream frosting and decorated it with sliced strawberries, blackberries and sliced almonds. And it was EASY to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States