Momma's Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was easy to throw together and turned out very moist. I chose to "flour" my pan with the cinnamon-sugar as suggested in the foonote. It has a delicate flavor. My husband ate his slice with strawberry jam, but I can see this going well with strawberries in a lite syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made two batches of cupcakes for a friend's birthday party. One batch with merlot and topped with white icing and one batch with white zin and topped with pink cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved them and had to try both flavors and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Excellent, easy, and a hit among EVERYONE! I added a tsp of cinnamon on top of the nutmeg and it turned out extra delicious. It was so good that my friends couldn't stop eating it! I love the consistency and the flavour. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this. Maybe the type of wine really matters. I used a chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
followed this exactly. It was very easy but that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Except for the nutmeg, my Grandmother has always made this cake! It's amazing, it does taste best the day after it is baked. This is my favorite cake ever. ( Oh, you can use red wine but your cake will turn out greenish in color, the taste is still amazing!) We use Mascoto white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glimmer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
The cake is in the oven now, so not sure but it looks great! Just wish they had specified which "white" wine to use! I thought it might be sweet so got a sweet red thinking it would be pink but it's gray! But as long as it's great tasting, that's all that matters since it's for an anniversary party that the baker at the last minute backed out of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Easy to make, tastes good and is very moist. I like the fact that you can add various fruits or just dust it with powdered sugar and it makes a nice presentation with a small amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
feed 17
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kailla Camberdella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We loved this cake! Admittedly I only had a small box of the vanilla pudding on hand and used that, but I used the kind of cake mix that already had pudding in it so maybe that came out even. The texture of this wonderful cake was just as good as the great flavor! This will definitely go into my preferred recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States