Momma's Wheat Germ Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Excellent cookie. After reading the reviews I didn't add any white sugar at all. Turned out just right for us. I didn't have alot left in my cupboard so I used raisins in place of coconut and almonds in place of peacans. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The store was out of my BF's favorite flaxseed cookies, so I took matters into my own hands... These are excellent, guilt-free cookies; perfect for breakfast. As per others, I cut the white sugar altogether and made up for it with 1 cup butterscotch and 1 cup white chocolate chips. I used 1 cup chopped dates but wish I had used more as the flavor isn't so strong. Baking at 325* was taking at least 14 minutes, so I upped to 350* and baked for about 12 minutes. They do not flatten during baking. (I had a near miss of forgetting the eggs and vanilla - added it after combining everything else with no problem.) Yielded 45 germ-ily delicious cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
these are very good. crisp and chewy. between the total 4 cups of coconut, pecans, dates, I Substituted 1c. coconut, 1.5cups pecans, 3/4cup raisins, and 3/4 cup chocolate chips. I also added 1/2 teaspn of cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg. THEY ARE KILLER! soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I scaled the recipe in half (and swapped chocolate chips for dates), and the first batch turned out terrible - I thought the dough looked too "creamy" but thought I'd try it anyway; they flattened out into a chewy-fall-apart pancake. Tasted good, but didn't look good at all. I added probably a 1/4 to 1/2 cup more flour to the dough I had left, and the next batch turned out beautiful and delicious. Wish I would have followed my instincts with the first batch! After I adjusted it they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made these for my toddler, however, my husband and I ended up eating most of the cookies. I used only about a ¼ cup of white sugar as advised by other reviews and it was plenty sweet. The next time I make these I think I will omit the white sugar all together. I also omitted the coconut, pecans, dates and added about 3 cups of raisins (because they were supposed to be for my toddler…). Everyone who tried them loved them. I may use additional oats the next time I make them as another reviewer did for more of a “healthy” cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband eats nothing with nuts or coconut in it - for 10 years I have not been able to trick him into trying them! He saw me put the nuts in these, but not the coconut, but they must have looked so good he was willing to try. He can't stop eating them now, even though I confessed to the coconut. Truly magical cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yummy!! I left the dates out, but otherwise made it as called for. If you're not a sugar freak, they might be a bit too sweet, so you probably could leave out 1/4-1/2 cup sugar and they'd taste fine. I used a medium scoop to make my cookies and they turned out to be a nice size, but a little thin in the middle after they were finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These cookies are great. My kids love them. You can add any variaton of ingredients and they are amazing, just use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These were simply amazing. I added chocolate chips and coconut to mine, and a few extra oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Great recipe! I made some changes, but they are also delicious as-is. I reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup and they were still quite sweet (you could probably eliminate the white sugar all together if you wanted). I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and half white. I omitted the dates and added butterscotch chips. VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States