Momma's Wheat Germ Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is one of the most delicious moist/crispy cookie I have ever made. My husband does not like raisins and has never tasted a date until now. He didn't ask what they were and I didn't say but he's gobbled them down like nobody's business. This 3rd time making them, I used 1 cup of organic coconut oil rather than butter, 1/2 cup white sugar (+1 cup brown), 1 cup whole wheat flour rather than all purpose, 3/4 cup wheat germ + 1/4 cup bran and stuck a half date in the middle plus I still used the 2 cups of chopped dates. Rolled it into the ball and some just stuck it in the middle like a bird's nest cookie. Didn't matter, they are delicious. I rolled the dough into balls and flattened before baking and/or flattened after baking but before they cooled. These cookies are my number one cookie to make. Good bye chocolate chip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Fantastic! My mother in law makes a good oatmeal chocolate chip recipe that is not very healthy. These were as good or better than that! (Even my husband agrees.) My only changes were that I used cranberries (because I had them) and added about 0.5 cup of chocolate chips. Baked at 325 for about 10 minutes in a convection oven. Crispy yet chewy. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy, P&C Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is my very best cookie recipe! I make these all the time. I did add a 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips to the recipe...excellent dunked in coffee! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! I substituted chocolate chips for dates. We couldn't stop eating them. Recipe was requested from our family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
For a healthy cookie recipe, these are amazing! The only thing I changed was I didn't have dates, so I substituted dates for dried blueberries. Tasted great with the coconut and pecans! Excellent cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I had my reservations about this recipe, but aside from being just the tiniest bit too sweet it is an outstanding recipe with a thin, crispy, delicious outcome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These cookies were awesome!!! I followed 2 pieces of advice from other reviews. I decreased the white sugar to 1/2c, and instead of dates and nuts, I added in 1c of milk chocolate chips. They turned out AMAZING!!!! However, at 325o, my cookies too 20 minutes to cook. They were definately worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
really good recipe thankyou for sharing it... I too reduced the sugar quite a bit just to make it a little more child friendly. worked great may even leave the white sugar out all together next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
so delicious! My whole family ate these up. I used about a third less sugar and used mostly whole wheat flour. i did not have coconut, pecans or dates so I just used mini choc chips! i will be making these again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
YUMMY!! These were so good and kind of good for you! I made them exactly as recipe stated, except used 1/2 C. instead of 1 C. of sugar. (used all of the brown sugar) I have a major sweet tooth so usually things are not too sweet for me, and these were sweet enough. My cookies did turn out pretty crumbly though and didn't stay together but that won't stop me from making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States