Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This brought back some really happy memories. It is now once again in the old family recipe box. Gosh but I miss my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
The sloppy joe's were good, but very dry. The recipe needs more wet ingredients, especially if it is in a saucepan for another 30 minutes. I stirred it pretty often, but it came out very dry. I may try it again, but with more ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
These were delicious!!! My daughter HATES sloppy joes, but I told her she had to at least try these. She LOVED them! She told me I could make them anytime, and that in itself makes this recipe worthy of 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
this recipe was way to sweet....gave me a stomach ache....tastes like you are eating a hot dog with ketchup and mustard and lots of sugar!!! In order for this to taste better I would suggest adding some spices, onions, and some veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
my husband and i loved this! does not serve 6 - the two of us finished the whole batch. the directions should have said to reduce the heat to simmer after adding the meat - then continue to stir for 30 minutes -thats what i did and it was wonderful. p.s. - i used ground sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
My gosh this was absouletly yummy. Thank you so much. The ingrediants were simple and cooking was fast and easy. I used lean ground turkey and it worked fine and subsituted the white sugar for splenda . worked beautifully and tasted superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Not what Iwas looking for at all. I need a recipe with vinager and brown sugar. More like my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought this was way toooo sweet the kids liked it but my husband and i did not I won't make this ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Great recipe as is. Definitely simmer on low for the 30 minutes, comes out sweet and tangy! I don't ordinarily like sloppy joes but I'm keeping this one since my boyfriend does. He had FOUR of these tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Very good, I needed a recipe for a BBQ, the only thing I would change is to add some plain BBQ sauce into the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States