Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Delicious!! My mom even asked for the recipe. I've prepared this twice now with turkey and then hamburger both times turned out great! My only note is that when I made it with hamburger I was making it for a larger group so quadrupled the recipe, I did find that you don't need as much vinegar and mustard it made it a little to tangy. I would reduce that by a teaspoon or more if you are extending beyond the original recipe. I tasted as I went to find the right flavor after doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. I sauteed garlic & bell pepper with the turkey(I would have used onion had I had any on hand. :-P). In the sauce, I also threw in about a tsp of crushed red pepper to add some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
What a fast and easy dinner! So good!! Tangy and filling.....will be doubling receipe and using for friends get togethers! Also lends itself for crockpot cooking for church dinners, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good! Replaced brown sugar for white sugar, added BBQ sauce and Worcestershire sauce along with the ketchup (to equal 1 cup), and used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Jon said these were the best Sloppy Joe's he's ever had! Take that Manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
this sauce is ok. it is a little tart for me. I added brown sugar instead of white like other people sugested. indtead of ground turkey i used fresh home canned beef. i will make it again but overall it is a little tart for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great, simple recipe my whole family enjoyed! One that is likely to become an old standby in our family especially since the ingredients are so easy to have around. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Yummy! Added garlic, ground pepper, worcestershire sauce & an onion to the turkey. I used apple cider vinegar instead and added BBQ sauces. Quick, easy & delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
A bit too sweet. I recommend reducing the amount of sugar since ketchup already has sugar in it. I agree with the other poster who said these taste like hotdogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These were sooo good! I took some of the other suggestions and browned the turkey with some onion and red bell pepper. I also browned it in 3 tablespoons of butter. I also switched up the sauce and only used 1/2 cup of ketchup and replaced the 1/2 cup with BBQ sauce and a couple of dashes of Worcester sauce. I also substituted the white sugar for brown sugar. These turned out AMAZING! They have been added to my weekday menu meal plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
We just finished eating and my husband said, "this is the best thing I have ever eaten!" He is picky so this is a big compliment. I used hamburger, sugar, brown sugar, ketchup, honey mustard, vinegar, & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States