Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
tasty. maybe a little too much mustard for my taste though. I also added garlic/onion/red bell pepper. I did reduce the sugar to about 1/2 the amount specified. Without the sugar, it tasted pretty sour. It probably depends on the brand of ketchup used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
very tasty my boys and my hubby loved this ..i substituted the yellow mustard for horsradish spicy mustard and added a dash of woshishire sauce this seemed to give it a nice flavor and did not add the sugar really it was def. not needed since with the ketchup it was sweet enough. i will never buy the canned stuff ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy and Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Delicious!! My mom even asked for the recipe. I've prepared this twice now with turkey and then hamburger both times turned out great! My only note is that when I made it with hamburger I was making it for a larger group so quadrupled the recipe, I did find that you don't need as much vinegar and mustard it made it a little to tangy. I would reduce that by a teaspoon or more if you are extending beyond the original recipe. I tasted as I went to find the right flavor after doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. I sauteed garlic & bell pepper with the turkey(I would have used onion had I had any on hand. :-P). In the sauce, I also threw in about a tsp of crushed red pepper to add some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
What a fast and easy dinner! So good!! Tangy and filling.....will be doubling receipe and using for friends get togethers! Also lends itself for crockpot cooking for church dinners, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good! Replaced brown sugar for white sugar, added BBQ sauce and Worcestershire sauce along with the ketchup (to equal 1 cup), and used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Jon said these were the best Sloppy Joe's he's ever had! Take that Manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
this sauce is ok. it is a little tart for me. I added brown sugar instead of white like other people sugested. indtead of ground turkey i used fresh home canned beef. i will make it again but overall it is a little tart for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great, simple recipe my whole family enjoyed! One that is likely to become an old standby in our family especially since the ingredients are so easy to have around. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Yummy! Added garlic, ground pepper, worcestershire sauce & an onion to the turkey. I used apple cider vinegar instead and added BBQ sauces. Quick, easy & delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States