Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Personally, I'm not a big fan of these turkey sloppy joes. It was dry and pretty tasteless. Even though it's not going the healthy route, I think I'll stick with Manwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was so good. Nice and tangy. I took others advice and added onion, sweet pepper and garlic. Also left out the sugar completely. Thanks! BTW, only 170 cake per serving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hemann
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was good, I subbed Johnsonville ground sausage for the beef. I mixed the sauce in a bowl so I could give a honest review of it. I felt it to be slightly lacking in flavor. I only added sugar to taste which was about 2tsp. There is no way I would add 2tbps to this recipe it would be way to sweet so I recommend putting 2tbsp in a small bowl then adding 1tsp at a time till you like the sweetness level. I did realize a little to late I only have red wine vinegar I do think that added to the flavor. I also added some onion when browning the meat. when mixed all together and simmered for 30 min it had lots of flavor and had te family coming back for seconds. I had to keep a eye on the sauce and add a tbsp. at a time during the simmer to keep sauce thickness how we like it. I added a total of 1/4c water to get a sauce consistency that was not overly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was a good recipe. I added chopped onion,red bell pepper and garlic to the turkey while browning. Instead of white sugar,I used brown.A little less ketchup,was replaced with BBQ and worchestershire sauce and a few grinds of black pepper .This was quick and super easy.I'll make this again,for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I started cooking this recipe and half way through I realized I ran out of Vinigar, so I had to substitute... and quick! I instead added 2T Sweet Baby Rays Honey BBQ and some garlic powder (I add Garlic to just about everything). Though this may have completely changed the taste (unknown due to unable to try the original recipe), it still tasted great! My 5 year old picky eater ate another helping! This recipe is also a great base to get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My husband does not like anything spicy so this recipe is perfect for him. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Thought it was delicious and my kids loved it. I, too, added onions and chopped yellow pepper as well as some garlic powder to the mix. Omitted the sugar and it was plenty sweet. Will certainly put this in the family rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made the sauce for this before I starting browning my ground bison - so I could tweak it - if needed. The desired sweetness of a sauce varies for every individual - but for us - I added an extra tablespoon of white sugar and a tablespoon of light corn syrup. I substituted a little Wostershire sauce in place of the vinegar. I also sauteed one small onion and one medium red pepper and added to my bison. I will never use any other recipe listed with lots more spices/ingredients - this one is simple and perfect! Anyone can adjust the sweetness or acidity to their taste very quickly! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
tasty. maybe a little too much mustard for my taste though. I also added garlic/onion/red bell pepper. I did reduce the sugar to about 1/2 the amount specified. Without the sugar, it tasted pretty sour. It probably depends on the brand of ketchup used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
very tasty my boys and my hubby loved this ..i substituted the yellow mustard for horsradish spicy mustard and added a dash of woshishire sauce this seemed to give it a nice flavor and did not add the sugar really it was def. not needed since with the ketchup it was sweet enough. i will never buy the canned stuff ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States