Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a good recipe. I added chopped onion,red bell pepper and garlic to the turkey while browning. Instead of white sugar,I used brown.A little less ketchup,was replaced with BBQ and worchestershire sauce and a few grinds of black pepper .This was quick and super easy.I'll make this again,for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Family loved it! Easy to make, too! I changed a few things: 1) I used 1 tbsp Splenda 2) I used apple cider vinegar, 3) While browning meat, I added 2 tsp minced garlic & 1/2 of a chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! Best sloppy joes recipe yet! Love using the turkey for fat and calorie savings. My kids loved them and I have a daughter that is terribly picky! I also used apple cider vinegar, onion powder and garlic powder and omitted the sugar. There was plenty of tange and sweetness in the Heinz ketchup that sugar was not needed. This will be a regular supper at my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Added green pepper, onion, about a teaspoon of pepper, and some minced garlic when cooking the turkey- tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
definitely add the onion (I used a whole one) and the dashes of worchestershire. also, i did not use sugar and it was very sweet with a combo of agave nectar-sweetened organic ketchup and regular hines (we had just enough for one cup when we combined the last of the two!). i used ground turkey. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
this recipe was way to sweet....gave me a stomach ache....tastes like you are eating a hot dog with ketchup and mustard and lots of sugar!!! In order for this to taste better I would suggest adding some spices, onions, and some veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This one is a keeper...and my family of 6 agreed. We all love sloppy joes, but the canned types all contain onions-and we are no fans of that allium! Everyone asked for this one again! I did follow the advice of others, and cut out the sugar completely...super delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purpleheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is awesome. My boyfriend hadn't ever tried sloppy joes before this recipe and now he's hooked. I took the advice of some of the other reviews. The adjustments that I made: 1) 1 tsp of brown sugar, 2) 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar, 3) 1 cup of Heinz ketchup and 4) 1 cup of tomato paste. Usually I used ground turkey, but in this case I used a pound of chuck ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Yummy is all my family has to say about these sloppy joes. I added some brown sugar and browned the meat with a little wirsteshire sauce for some tang, but very yummy indeed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIBBLES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
my husband and i loved this! does not serve 6 - the two of us finished the whole batch. the directions should have said to reduce the heat to simmer after adding the meat - then continue to stir for 30 minutes -thats what i did and it was wonderful. p.s. - i used ground sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States