Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe! I just made it in less than 45 minutes and my 22 year old brother devoured it in a matter of seconds. I substituted rice wine vinegar for white vinegar because we didn't have it. Next time I'll probably try throwing in some veggies.. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I loved it!!! I changed the recipe a little bit. I added more ketchup and mustard than the recipe called for. I added minced garlic too. No sugar needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Well, one of my 3 kids ate it, one sampled it here and there, and one had to be forced through tears to take the mandatory three bites. Hubby and I liked it OK. We served it with homemade bread, baked tater tots, and some celery to make the plate not completely beige/bland. I used apple cider vinegar, and just slightly less sugar than called for; and we didn't have any yellow mustard (I know, what?!?), so we used deli brown. I found this to be overwhelmingly vinegary. I will try it again, with less vinegar, and will get some yellow mustard. All that said, I was pleased to actually "cook" - no microwave, no cans - for me, a decent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Would have liked a little more sauce, more of a sweet and sour mix but everyone enjoyed and kids did not notice the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! Best sloppy joes recipe yet! Love using the turkey for fat and calorie savings. My kids loved them and I have a daughter that is terribly picky! I also used apple cider vinegar, onion powder and garlic powder and omitted the sugar. There was plenty of tange and sweetness in the Heinz ketchup that sugar was not needed. This will be a regular supper at my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Added green pepper, onion, about a teaspoon of pepper, and some minced garlic when cooking the turkey- tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Easy and fabulous - thank you for the posting I will never buy the can sauce ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I went with the review ideas and added some worchestire sauce, bbq sauce, touch of paprika, and brown sugar. I also added some hot sauce for a little more kick. This recipe was good, but needed lots of work. Probably won't make it again because it takes to much experimenting with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
taste good...i sauted some onions to put in it and yes i was quit sweet i would definantaly subtract he suger and and add more spices like peper, chillie powder oh and hot sauce! next time... all in all yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was delicious!! Loved the tangy, sweetness of it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States