Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made the sauce for this before I starting browning my ground bison - so I could tweak it - if needed. The desired sweetness of a sauce varies for every individual - but for us - I added an extra tablespoon of white sugar and a tablespoon of light corn syrup. I substituted a little Wostershire sauce in place of the vinegar. I also sauteed one small onion and one medium red pepper and added to my bison. I will never use any other recipe listed with lots more spices/ingredients - this one is simple and perfect! Anyone can adjust the sweetness or acidity to their taste very quickly! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
tasty. maybe a little too much mustard for my taste though. I also added garlic/onion/red bell pepper. I did reduce the sugar to about 1/2 the amount specified. Without the sugar, it tasted pretty sour. It probably depends on the brand of ketchup used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
very tasty my boys and my hubby loved this ..i substituted the yellow mustard for horsradish spicy mustard and added a dash of woshishire sauce this seemed to give it a nice flavor and did not add the sugar really it was def. not needed since with the ketchup it was sweet enough. i will never buy the canned stuff ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy and Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Brewer
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Delicious!! My mom even asked for the recipe. I've prepared this twice now with turkey and then hamburger both times turned out great! My only note is that when I made it with hamburger I was making it for a larger group so quadrupled the recipe, I did find that you don't need as much vinegar and mustard it made it a little to tangy. I would reduce that by a teaspoon or more if you are extending beyond the original recipe. I tasted as I went to find the right flavor after doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. I sauteed garlic & bell pepper with the turkey(I would have used onion had I had any on hand. :-P). In the sauce, I also threw in about a tsp of crushed red pepper to add some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
What a fast and easy dinner! So good!! Tangy and filling.....will be doubling receipe and using for friends get togethers! Also lends itself for crockpot cooking for church dinners, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good! Replaced brown sugar for white sugar, added BBQ sauce and Worcestershire sauce along with the ketchup (to equal 1 cup), and used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Jon said these were the best Sloppy Joe's he's ever had! Take that Manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
this sauce is ok. it is a little tart for me. I added brown sugar instead of white like other people sugested. indtead of ground turkey i used fresh home canned beef. i will make it again but overall it is a little tart for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great, simple recipe my whole family enjoyed! One that is likely to become an old standby in our family especially since the ingredients are so easy to have around. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States