Momma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Sorry, didn't taste too good to me. I usually use tomato paste in sloppy joes so maybe thats why it just didn't taste right to me. It needed some help, so I added worchestershire sauce, a chopped onion, chili powder, paprika, garlic, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Family of 8 picky eaters all loved this. Served with fruit salad for a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Easy, simple, pretty good tasting also! Definitely have to add barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfiala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ball Ground, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
excellent recipe. I did not add the sugar - the katsup has so much already! Also, I added a whole onion (chopped), Worcestershire sauce, and garlic (minced). Finally, I watered it down a bit with 1/2 cup water and 1 cup V8 tomato juice and let it simmer back down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were pretty darn good. I think a little less sugar next time. But other than that, good and easy quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha Wilmoth

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was decent, nothing special. I did use ground chicken, I didn't have any beef around. Best part was that it was quick and easy and didn't taste half bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is awesome. My boyfriend hadn't ever tried sloppy joes before this recipe and now he's hooked. I took the advice of some of the other reviews. The adjustments that I made: 1) 1 tsp of brown sugar, 2) 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar, 3) 1 cup of Heinz ketchup and 4) 1 cup of tomato paste. Usually I used ground turkey, but in this case I used a pound of chuck ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
definitely add the onion (I used a whole one) and the dashes of worchestershire. also, i did not use sugar and it was very sweet with a combo of agave nectar-sweetened organic ketchup and regular hines (we had just enough for one cup when we combined the last of the two!). i used ground turkey. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a good recipe. I added chopped onion,red bell pepper and garlic to the turkey while browning. Instead of white sugar,I used brown.A little less ketchup,was replaced with BBQ and worchestershire sauce and a few grinds of black pepper .This was quick and super easy.I'll make this again,for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keia Lockley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States